We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel has deteriorated” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Dubai
1 review
“This hotel has deteriorated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having stayed at the Balalaika for the same period last year I was happy to rebook for this year.
At no time during the online booking process was I advised that the hotel was in the process of refurbishment.
Many of the communal services were therefore not available as follows. Lobby and reception area.
Bar
Casual meeting areas

The breakfast food was also cold so was room service food.

Myself and two colleagues made our feelings known to the hotel management resulting in apologies and a very short letter say I can have a free night the next time I book with them.
Needless to say I will not be booking again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear ‘Stephen S’.
Your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ refer.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced due to the refurbishment which had taken place during your previous stay with us. As was explained in the apology letter you received in your room, the refurbishment should have been completed much earlier, but unfortunately took longer due to unforeseen circumstances. However, we tried our utmost to make sure that our valued GUESTS were in no way inconvenienced. Our lobby/foyer was set up in one of our function rooms and our Bar was set up in our Crown Court Lounge.
As I write this, all has been successfully completed and looks absolutely stunning and we are convinced that this will ensure the best GUEST service.
Thank you for bringing the breakfast and room service concerns to our attention; these have been addressed with our Food & Beverage Manager.
It saddens us that you do not seem to accept our apology and will not be accepting the complimentary free night.
However, should you change your mind, please feel free to contact Johan, our Reservations Manager (johan@balalaika.co.za), who will gladly assist you.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    429
    160
    47
    36
See reviews for
120
214
72
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have stayed at this location a number of times and always enjoyed. Great buffet style breakfast with eggs cooked to your liking. Beautiful natural courtyard and surroundings right in the heart of the Sandton. Not far from the Gautrain and Nelson Mandela square

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear ‘Steve H’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. This ismuch appreciated. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast buffet so much.
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
281 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Balalaika is a 4 star hotel in the heart of Sandon.
It was originally built about 60 years ago when it took about a hours trip to get there from the city of Johannesburg on dirt roads.
It has had numerous make overs over the years and the latest was a complete renovation of the rooms etc.
It is a still gives the impression of being in the country.
Overall a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too far from the lower pool, there are 2, which is secluded and much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear ‘Clive V’.
Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. Yes, we consider ourselves blessed to have 2 beautiful gardens creating that sense of ‘A little bit of country in the heart of Sandton’.
We look forward in welcoming you back to our ‘little oasis’ again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I haven't stayed at The Balalaika Hotel for a while and returned last week for a short business visit to Johannesburg. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens right in the centre of busy Sandton and although they are busy with renovations, I found very little disruption during my stay.

I was so impressed with the efficient and friendly service with particular reference to the Banqueting Manager Thandi and also Dean in the breakfast room.
All round good, friendly and efficient service - a big shout out to the management and team at this hotel.

Added bonus is the complimentary bus shuttle to the Gautrain which makes getting airport transfers seamless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear ‘Lindsey G’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your praise in particular about Thandi and Dean is much appreciated. Please know that we have congratulated them on doing a great job. We are very pleased to read that your all round stay was such a wonderful one.
We look forward in welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Protea Balalaika for four days. Initially, we had booked a family suite but when we got there, we found out that we had to share the bathroom and both bedrooms had no TVs though a TV was available in the suite's living room. This did not sit well with our daughters and hence our requesting for 2 separate adjoining double rooms, this was promptly dealt with (Big thanks to Oratile). Overall our stay was wonderful and we would want to appreciate Nelson, Bonga and the servers at the Bull Run Vance and Clive. We'll certainly be back.

Doc, Zambia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodDoc911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear ‘GoodDoc911’
Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is greatly appreciated. We are very pleased to read that your request to change to 2 adjoining rooms was met and that this was dealt with to your satisfaction. Please know that we have also praised Oratile, Nelson, Bonga, Vance and Clive for doing a great job!
We look forward in welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I chose Protea for a weekend extension of a business trip and Loved the place, mostly because of the huge green space in the center if busy Sandton! Location is central and price is reasonable for the area. Was a perfect retreat after long hours of walking in the sun and quiet to relax from your safari in Pilanesberg. Architecture is not grand but it somehow gave me an exotic feeling of Africa (in a good way). Its also friendly - if you're in the mood to meet a bunch of jolly English people in the whiskey bar and share experiences. And they have a PIANO! Only thing - the swimming pool needs to be cleaned and heated. Otherwise - yes - id go back if I need to stay in the area!

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony (living in the North of Europe nowadays I always enjoy one), and if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear ‘Bagy V’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. How wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one and that you were able to relax in our beautiful & tranquil gardens.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently stayed at the Protea Balalaika Hotel in Jo'burg and whilst the area of Sandton was a great place to stay the hotel was a little on the old fashioned side. My room was miles from reception and confusing to find in the maze of corridors. Was very clean but a little dated and could do with a bit of a facelift. Check in took absolutely ages for some unknown reason too. Breakfast was a buffet and quite nice but some of the staff took ages to bring the tea/coffee to our table.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LH0195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing