We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad. Serviceable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not bad. Serviceable.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is neither the best hotel, nor the worst. The rooms are somewhat dated, though clean, and the accoutrement within the rooms is generally nonfunctional. However, there are a few positives to this hotel. First, the hotel's grounds are well-kept, large, and really comfortable, such that even though you're in the middle of Sandton, you feel like you're in somewhat of an oasis. Second, the cigar bar attached to the hotel is a great bar in which to hang out, so you don't need to wander far from the hotel to have a good time. Finally, the restaurant at the hotel, the Bull Run, is a great place to sit and have an excellent steak.

All in all, not a bad place to stay for a couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear ‘ mapagr’.
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’, which is appreciated. As you can understand, it is concerning for us to read that ‘generally the equipment is non-functional in rooms’(?), as these are checked daily. May we ask if you addressed this with any of our Team Members? Yes, our Lord’s Bar has a wonderful, cosy vibe and our beautiful gardens are truly an oasis in the middle of the busy Sandton. Ideal for our valued GUESTS to relax after a hectic day at work.
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    451
    173
    49
    41
See reviews for
130
227
77
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Balalaika Hotel in February. The staff were very courteous and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was amazing. The gardens are beautiful and very tranquil but I think that the Hotel itself is a bit drab! It seems to lack lustre and I think it could do with refreshing. I overheard a comment that the owner is not eager to spend money, but the rooms definitely could do with a rejuvenation of some sort.
The hotel is attached to an abandon shopping centre which is supposed to be demolished and rebuilt. But saying all this, I do think the location is good, and the attached resturant is excellent and you cant go wrong with the staff's efficiency and for this reason we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had a very good time in Protea hotel situated at Cape town, which made me to book again at Protea at Jo borg, but i was very disappointed . We arrived at 2 pm after a long flight, the person at lobby tells us that we have to wait for another 1-2 hrs before our room will be ready, Reason inspite their check out is at 11 am, they are still cleaning our room. when we asked her since we are checking in only at 4pm that too, because of them, can we have a late check out next day the prompt reply was that we are not allowed. The rooms at crown court was really small, clautrophobic, only good thing is the atmosphere the gardens were good, Buffet in the morning was okay, but the overall experience was just average, i will not wish to go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smriti2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear ‘smriti2006’.

Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so. Needless to say we are concerned to read about you experience, as this truly does not reflect our high standard of service which we are usually proud to offer. May I ask if you at any stage addressed your concerns with any of our Management? Our standard rooms are of average size and it is the first time to hear that they are ‘really small etc.’ We also offer Suites which are fairly bigger. Maybe that would have been more suitable for you? Please accept our sincere apologies that it seemed that your experience at the Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton was such a disappointing one.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonanjo
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked this hotel on a recent business travel. I also required that I be picked up at the airport. As I was going to South Africa for the first time, I was very conscious of crime risks. To my amazement, I found no-one at the airport and had to "risk" a taxi. The word risk was in quote as I later found out that SA isn't as dangerous as it appeared and a normal precaution could save anyone's hide.

Anyway, I got to the hotel to discover that they apparently canceled my reservation for no reason. They later found a room for me - freshly painted. The fumes from the new paint could kill an adult elephant.

The internet was also very crappy.

However good ratings should go to friendliness and courtesy. Requests are also dealt with on time.

On the long run, I might never go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pinkjacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear ‘Pinkjacket’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. As you can understand we are most concerned to read about your experience. Sadly it is difficult for us to assist and check now what occurred and why, as we do not have any further details of yours on ‘tripadvisor’. Please could you e-mail our Guest Relations Manager, Christine (Christine@balalaika.co.za), so she can investigate. She will gladly assist you.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from a week in the hotel for business purposes from the UK. We were using the conference facilities in the hotel which we have already provided feedback to management about.

Overall the hotel just needs some renovation and attention. I moved rooms after one night as my room was very small and not to the standard I had been given to expect. On arriving in my new room I found a complimentary bottle of wine and a letter of apology. (I often think you can judge hotels by how they handle a situation where they get something wrong)

The staff are very friendly and attentive (I love Dean on the breakfast service shift, great service with a smile) However even in my new room, the same problems arose, doors hanging off hinges, faulty electrical points, balcony doors that ere difficult to open, stained walls etc. The bathroom was ok and seemed to have been updated more recently

I will not be going back there until renovation work has been complete.

The bull run, and location so close to other bars and restaurants will then make this a much more attractive hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JulieCManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our travelling group of 16 stayed here for our first 2 nights of our Africa tour. Reeption was a little overwhlemed (even though they knew to expect us) when we all arrived along with our entire flight crew at the same time! Room was comfortable but a little dated. Our area was 3 floors with no elevator service.
Swimming pool was small and cold. Gardens are lovely. Buffet breakfast is available but has a cumbersome set-up and ndifficult to manoeuvre. There is a small coffee shop in fornt foyer with muffins if you don't wish thebuffet breakfast, but the muffins/scones are in big demand and are ususally gone very early. Bull Run restauratn is excellent- good African menu choices, good service, nice environment and reasonable.
Would recommend a short walk to the Nelson Mandella MAll- great place for breakfast there as well

Room Tip: If you are in need of an elevator, you need to specify a room in a block that has such.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14bosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear ‘14bosley’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and your experience on ‘tripadvisor’. Yes, our gardens are truly delightful and our location is excellent.
Please accept our apologies regarding the inconvenience you experienced not being able to use an elevator to access your room. Were you not able to move to a room with one nearby?
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed in the Protea Hotel Balalaika for a total of 13 days. It was a enjoyable stay with a good quality breakfast, good restaurants close by and not too noisy for a good night rest. The rooms in the Crown Cort were tidy and clean. Bath room had separated shower and bathtub. The two swimming pool areas are great for sunny days in the weekend.
The service was always kind and alert.

Only negative thing I have to say about the hotel is, their wireless internet connection. It's faulty and you can only access in the common rooms, like restaurant, lobby, etc. It was also out of service most of the times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoCamandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear ‘DoCamandro’
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience regarding the WIFI being a concern. We understand your frustrations completely. We are currently looking into quicker, better WIFI options and should have a new system up and running in March.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing