We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a great hotel in an excellent location
The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is great. The rooms though a little dated are comfortable and clean,
This hotel offers easy access to Sandton City and Mandela Sq restaurants
I would reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toeknee911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear ‘k91181-1’.
Thank you for writing on ‘tripadvisor’. It is wonderful that you had an all round positive experience. Your praise in particular about our friendly staff and our scrumptious breakfast is much appreciated.
We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

After my first disastrous stay at this Hotel I was reluctant to stay again but I was attending a workshop taking place there so decided to give it a 2nd chance. It was better this time but not fantastic. I cannot understand why they would put a single women on a groundlfoor room that is very accessible and where the only fresh air is through the sliding door that does not open of close properly. If I was doing this booking I would have put me in a 1st or 2nd floor room. Nevertheless, the rooms are nice, big and comfortable, as are the bathrooms and all very clean. It is nice to have a fridge available too. Service is not great espeically if you sitting at the pool. Wine by the glass at R45, wow. A bit pricey to say the least. Breakfast not awe inspiring so if you don't want to pay exhorbitant hotel prices find a coffee shop nearby. They also charge for parking more than the actual parking garage does? Reception staff are not nice, they are just doing their jobs!!!!

Room Tip: Be very specific what room you choose. If you want ground floor, beware. Ask for a room in the acu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear ‘travelbabe40’.
Thank you for writing your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. It truly saddens us to read that it seems that the Reception Staff did not meet with your expectation. Please know that this has been addressed with the Front Office Manager. Your mention your concern of being on the ground floor as a lady; this is concerning for us, as it would give the impression that we are an unsafe hotel – WHICH WE ARE NOT. We have 24 hour security and camera’s throughout the Hotel. In fact we have many female GUESTS who request to have a room on the ground floor. Should you stay with us again, please could you advise that you would prefer an upper floor? Our Breakfast Buffet is known to be one of the best in Sandton, as it provides a variety of scrumptious dishes. Pity it did not appeal to you. Our parking per day costs R 25.- / whereas the Village Walk Parking Garage charges an hourly fee; which can work out to much more that R 25.-. We have checked with the surrounding Sandton Hotels and our glass of wine charges are on par with many of them.
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the end of our 4 week trip to Africa and this hotel whilst not 5 star is extremely comfortable, with good size rooms, well located in Sandton and only 5 minutes walk to Mandela Square, although the hotel has a regular free shuttle service to this area. Excellent breakfast buffet, great Lords Tavern bar where Ryan makes great cocktails. The Bull Run Restaurant is absolutely fantastic with possibly the best steak I have ever had and I am an Aussie. Overall a great place to stay at reasonable cost and is real value for money. I would highly recommend this hotel. Wonderful, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear ‘Sherpa42’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your kind words are very much appreciated. How wonderful to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed in the older block of accommodation nearer reception, and whilst the room was a little tired it had everything I needed( comfortable bed, safe, desk bath with separate shower cubicle).
The breakfast buffet was exceptional as was Bull Run restaurant.A negative was people can smoke in the Lords Bar, but not under the canopy outside where food was served.The only other gripe is the door card never ever worked first time, in fact sometimes took about 10 attempts before successful.Would not hesitate to recommend, but suggest you get a room in the newer part of hotel(further away from reception). Staff I encountered were all very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birtley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights as part of our package for the All Blacks vrs Springbok Test. Check in easy as it should be, staff freindly and helpful, room clean and confortable, breakfast excellent. Could do with some maintanence and abit of spruce up but otherwise fine.ate at Bull Run Resturant twice and found it to be excellent value with very good service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peegee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear ‘ peegee1’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’ and for your praise about our helpful & friendly STAFF, the Breakfast and the Bull Run Restaurant. This greatly appreciated. Not sure though what you mean by “…Hotel a bit dated…” ? We are not the typical high-rise, modern Hotel, but pride ourselves in being ‘a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton’. Our décor is Colonial with a country ‘feel’ to it...so, yes, maybe that is “dated” and not modern? But this is what makes us so unique in comparison to the modern high-rise Hotels.
We look forward in welcoming you back to our beautiful Hotel.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is older than many in Sandton, but well equipped and comfortable with a good standard of rooms. The customer set was mixed, with business people, families, and (on the weeekend we stayed) tour groups passing through for the Springboks / All Blacks rugby match. We ate at the Bull Run and found it to be good. The shopping centre next to the hotel is closing, which meant it was hard to go anywhere else without a taxi, I wouldn't have wanted to be there for long. Pleasant small garden with bar snacks, where service was a little slow. Our room was on the ground floor opening out to a path around the back. I think the ones opening around the pool and restaurant area could be noisy at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coddfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear ‘Coddfish’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is not so far from the city center...it's clean and cute with a colonial style.

The food is good and the breakfast is simply fantastic!

The restaurant service is horrible...too quiet for a business hotel!!
The guys at the reception...really unpleasant!!

Good hotel...bad personnell.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear ‘Frederico B’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’.
Your praise about the hotel & décor style and breakfast was appreciated. However, as you can understand, we were most concerned to read about your concerns. May we ask if you addressed these with any of our Management Team? You comment about the restaurant being too quiet? Which restaurant are you referring to? There are two: the Colony Breakfast Restaurant or the Bull Run? Both of which are very busy most of the time. Your feedback is appreciated.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $85 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing