We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I spent 18 fantastic nights at the Balalaika. It has a wonderful old fashioned African feel to it, mainly due to the delightful staff, particularly Christine, Happiness, Michael and Seipati for whom nothing is too much trouble. The gardens are unbelievable -hidden right in the heart of Sandton. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean and nice chocs with turndown service at night.I prefer it a thousand times more than its fancier Sandton competitors which have little or no atmosphere. Love the music the pianist provides on weeknights.The only meal I had there was breakfast which is excellent. Only a grumpy person looking for fault would not enjoy the Balalaika! Thanks to all the staff for my happy stay at this great old gem. Theresa A.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear ‘Theresa A’.
We were delighted to receive your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Thank you for taking the time to do so and for being such a loyal GUEST. Your kind words are much appreciated and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed for business for a week in August. My impression is that the hotel is a bit tired. Everything is clean and presentable, but the decor from the 80s with partial updates on the cheap. Service was relatively good, but constant hassles were encountered like key cards stopping working everyday, laundry coming back late, the internet code going out of date, it all adds a level of irritation to business travel - this is a business hotel and these things should be easy. Bed is comfortable though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natholian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear ‘natholian’.
Thank you for writing on ‘tripadvisor’.
We are not the typical, high-rise, modern décor hotel, but are Colonial styled (not from the 80’s) with a country feel to it. Our 2 beautiful gardens help us create a homely and comfortable ambience. Please note that the magnetic strip on the key cards may be very sensitive to any electronic devices
like cell phones, ipods etc. nearby. Our outsourced laundry service returns the laundry in the late afternoon and it is delivered to the GUEST’s room from the late afternoon to the early evening. Please accept our sincere apologies, should this have not been the case with you. May we ask if you raised this concern with our Housekeeping TEAM at all? We can understand your frustration regarding the internet, please know that we have addressed this with our IT Manager, who has taken action to rectify the shortcomings. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Yes, we agree: our beds are truly very comfortable and guarantee a good nights sleep.

We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jӧrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Absolutely nothing to complain about - check-in and check-out were both a breeze thanks to efficient and friendly front-desk staff - service in Lords Bar and room service great and the buffet breakfast was amazing - room was clean, bed and pillows very comfortable and the en-suite bathroom all you can wish for. LCD television in-room with a lot of different satellite TV channels including a couple of German channels - this was a nice surprise. The gardens at the hotel are beautiful and you can relax next to the pool and just watch all the different kinds of birds there. We also had dinner at The Bull Run restaurant and the service there was as great as their steaks and wine-list. There is a very convenient shuttle service available to the Sandton City Mall just down the road. Even though we only stayed for one night we went away the next day feeling so rested and relaxed as if we were there for a long holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvWielligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear ‘SvWielligh’.

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed and positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your praise about our STAFF in particular is most appreciated. How wonderful to read that you felt well rested! We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jӧrg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

During my recent trip we had our full day business meeting in this beautifully located Santon hotel.... the enterance is not at all impressive but the lobbycompensates for that.
The surprise is that the lift starts from 4th floors..2nd/3rd floor missing???
The staff are very freindly.
The buffet menu was very good including wine. The young chef was very helpful... for a vegeteraina like me, this buffet was GOD sent oppurtunity...many veg dishes.
But little unhappy for charging our group for a coffee at the meeting room after lunch... even though morning and evening coffee are part of the deal.

But over all a happy experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear ‘plpalani’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ was very much appreciated. May we ask if you had raised your concern with any of our Banqueting Managers? Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
We thank you for your patronage and look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel outside can be misleading, the foyer is absolutely welcoming, the bellboys are really great at what they do, but the reception is a serious let down. It took us nearly an hour to check in, with guests and tour operator vying for the attention of the few attendants behind the counter. The parking was also quite confusing, but you get there in the end. The room service was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear ‘liyabee’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Please know that we have taken your concern about the Reception Desk to heart and have addressed this with our Front Office Manager. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We look forward in welcoming you back again to our beautiful hotel.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Both the rooms and the public areas were very nice. Our room was bright and had a nice desk area that overlooked one of the pool areas. The employees were very helpful and quick to please. The grounds were very well maintained. The beds were by far the most comfortable we encountered in all of South Africa. I think the hotel would be good for both the business and family travelers. The location is in a safe area with a variety of convenient services nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomAndAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear ‘MomAndAll’.
Thank you for your kind feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for posting those wonderful fotos. This is much appreciated. We are very pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My second visit to the balalaika, first was in 2008. Had a standard room this time, which was same size as superior but without a view. very comfortable bed, good bathroom and housekeeping service. Had an issue with the inbuilt electical adapter but sorted out quickly by maintenance man. Room service is great value and huge servings.
The shopping centre which is in the same complex as the Balalaika is dying a slow death. PicknPay Supermarket has gone and many shops are closed. It is only a short stroll to the shopping mecca of Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear ‘Greg B’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’.
Your praise about our Housekeeping Team, Maintenance Team and our Room Service in particular is greatly appreciated. Yes, we consider ourselves very blessed to have 2 beautiful gardens or an ‘oasis’ as you so wonderfully put it. This is what makes us so unique.
We look forward in welcoming back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $103 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing