We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Nearby Hotels
$263
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
$247
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$542
$517
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
$130
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$138
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$159
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$212
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$215
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,083)
Filter reviews
1,083 results
Traveler rating
296
490
193
59
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
490
193
59
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbull run restaurantlords barcrown courtstock exchangemandela squarebit datedgautrain stationsafe locationbuffet breakfastshopping centrefree shuttlereception areaan oasisshuttle servicebeautiful gardensouth africabusiness district
Filter
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,083 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

During my recent trip we had our full day business meeting in this beautifully located Santon hotel.... the enterance is not at all impressive but the lobbycompensates for that.
The surprise is that the lift starts from 4th floors..2nd/3rd floor missing???
The staff are very freindly.
The buffet menu was very good including wine. The young chef was very helpful... for a vegeteraina like me, this buffet was GOD sent oppurtunity...many veg dishes.
But little unhappy for charging our group for a coffee at the meeting room after lunch... even though morning and evening coffee are part of the deal.

But over all a happy experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear ‘plpalani’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ was very much appreciated. May we ask if you had raised your concern with any of our Banqueting Managers? Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
We thank you for your patronage and look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel outside can be misleading, the foyer is absolutely welcoming, the bellboys are really great at what they do, but the reception is a serious let down. It took us nearly an hour to check in, with guests and tour operator vying for the attention of the few attendants behind the counter. The parking was also quite confusing, but you get there in the end. The room service was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear ‘liyabee’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Please know that we have taken your concern about the Reception Desk to heart and have addressed this with our Front Office Manager. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We look forward in welcoming you back again to our beautiful hotel.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Both the rooms and the public areas were very nice. Our room was bright and had a nice desk area that overlooked one of the pool areas. The employees were very helpful and quick to please. The grounds were very well maintained. The beds were by far the most comfortable we encountered in all of South Africa. I think the hotel would be good for both the business and family travelers. The location is in a safe area with a variety of convenient services nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomAndAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear ‘MomAndAll’.
Thank you for your kind feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for posting those wonderful fotos. This is much appreciated. We are very pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My second visit to the balalaika, first was in 2008. Had a standard room this time, which was same size as superior but without a view. very comfortable bed, good bathroom and housekeeping service. Had an issue with the inbuilt electical adapter but sorted out quickly by maintenance man. Room service is great value and huge servings.
The shopping centre which is in the same complex as the Balalaika is dying a slow death. PicknPay Supermarket has gone and many shops are closed. It is only a short stroll to the shopping mecca of Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear ‘Greg B’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’.
Your praise about our Housekeeping Team, Maintenance Team and our Room Service in particular is greatly appreciated. Yes, we consider ourselves very blessed to have 2 beautiful gardens or an ‘oasis’ as you so wonderfully put it. This is what makes us so unique.
We look forward in welcoming back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Balalaika Sandton hotel offers a quiet and safe haven in Jonanessburg with comfortable rooms around landscaped gardens with terasses and two swimming pools.. The hotel has a colonial feel and a very good steakhouse. It is going through a renovation program and the refurbished rooms are comfortable and clean but not too big. The older rooms are ok but clearly in need of an update. Located only a short walk from Mandela square and the Sandton shopping mall and convention Centre it is a good choice both for business and leisure.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden on level 1 and 2 are the best. Avoid the rooms at -1 facing outwards as they are a bit damp and have noisy airco.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews