We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Stockholm
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Makeover overdue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

I stayed at the Balalaika a couple of weeks ago and wow is it torn and worn!

My room had a foul smell of mildew and I found out why as soon as I took a shower as the water from the shower would run out onto the carpet in the room. I wonder for how long this had been going on?

We were a team staying at the hotel and all our rooms had flaws, some worse and some not so bad. One of the "not so bad" just had a malfunctioning heater so the room wouldn't warm up, thankfully the winter was not yet quite here. Another room had an aroma of cigar smoke, interesting in a non smoking room. We tried to change rooms but the hotel was fully booked so we had to do with these and just bear it.

Internet? It worked sometimes, and when it worked it was slow. Thankfully it is not included in the room rate and so expensive that most people will not have to realize how poor it is.

Was all bad?

No! The breakfast is really good and the restaurant has a great hamburger! The location is pretty good too!

Value for money? No. If it cost half it would be ok value but right now it is a waste of good money to stay here if you have other options.

Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Brabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    429
    160
    47
    36
See reviews for
120
214
72
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We were well looked after by the staff, had a comfortable bed and excellent breakfasts. The gardens are beautiful and there are pools, but although we could sit out, it was too cold to swim in May. Other hotels around are high rise, and here it is great to be so close to the ground and gardens - though there are lots of little flights of steps to the wings where the rooms are. There may be accessible rooms, but ours certainly wasn't. The hotel is a little tired, and carpets in the corridors very worn. Room layout is strange. There's only one bedside cabinet; on the other side is a desk - and that's where the hairdrier is wired in, as far away from the bathroom as it can get. We came from the airport by Gautrain, and then walked to the hotel, as a helpful passerby pointed out it was quicker than waiting for the hotel courtesy bus. We noticed a lot of flight crews stay here. The hotel opens into a shopping centre with a small Pick n Pay supermarket, a pharmacy and a range of eating places. Not all the shopping centre units are occupied, but there are several good restaurants, Italian and African, and also a quick burger place (with three vegetarian choices). The hotel steak restaurant, highly rated by other tripadvisors, isn't good for vegetarians!

Room Tip: Ask about accessibility when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

The last and best hotel on our Smartours trip and we did not want to leave the hotel or South Africa. The hotel was very nice. Rooms were a little worn, but sparkling clean. The bedbug check was negative. Excellant service by the hotel. We had one last tour on the day of our departure and they allowed us a 3 p.m. checkout--and, they even provided the wine for our farewell dinner. Food at the hotel was good. Room service was actually cheaper then the pasta place in the mall next door. We enjoyed the pools and beautiful garden area.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Our conference was in midrand, so Sandton was a bit far, but we did have a shopping day and the Balalaika is dead central to Sandton City and the fabulous shopping.

Hotel rooms are looking a bit tired and I had to ask for a change of pillows, but the staff were very apologetic and helpful. Breakfast was a scrumptious affair and included in the rate, but at $7, make the effort even if its not included.

Its a very big hotel with impressive gardens and lots of lovely nooks and crannies to sit outside in the sun and read a book.

Even if it is a bus ride to Midrand, I will choose to stay at the Balalaika again this year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicnac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

Location, quality and value are the earmarks of a very good holiday hotel. The Balalaika Sandton has the lot. Location is right next to a shopping arcade and a few minutes walk to Mandella Square which is a mega shopping centre. The other strong point is that you are in Sandton, a safe up market suburb. This large hotel is a first class quality with comfortable rooms and an adjoining steak restuarant which is one of the best in town.
If there is a negative in mainly caters for the business class but don't let that stop you. If the buget is tight there is several fast food outlets and a supermarket in the arcade.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubenjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

As one of 3 hotels I regularly use in Johannesburg Balalaika is always great value for the money and well positioned to Sandton shopping including Nelson Mandela Square and Village Walk. Staff are courteous, helpful and I have never encountered any problems in some 20 years of usage. Have booked a family room the last 2 years and these rooms are spacious and well located within the hotel. Breakfast is great value in the dining area would recommend highly if you want to stay at Sandton and not pay a fortune for the privilege. Tried the Bull Run restaurant for dinner on this occasion which is next door to hotel and it was excellent - tasty food and not too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imfundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquitaine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Excellent hotel, nice room, nice area. Good services. Correct prices. To be advised without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacancier955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing