We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay at the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One night stay at the hotel”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

From one extreme to the other! If you ever find yourself in Johannesburg avoid the town lodge in Sandton. We were far from warmly greeted. We ordered food which turned up about an hour later and freezing cold, as it was made somewhere else off the premises, it came wrapped in foil and all the sauce spilled onto my lap when I opened it and I’m not convinced the burger was cooked properly and I left most of it although I was hungry. We had to pay for Wi-Fi access and although we were able to put the charge for that and the meal on our rooms they couldn’t put the couple of beers we had onto our room and they wanted cash not cards… suspicious! To add insult, I get to my cold poky room to find that the heater doesn’t seem to work and there’s an empty condom box on the bed side table (at least some one enjoyed themselves here). If it wasn’t so late and I wasn’t in a strange city with a couple of beers inside me I would have checked out straight away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elgie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
7
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
295 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I spent a month at the Town Lodge (yes a month).
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

It is conveniently located in Sandton which is great.

I was disappointed to find that items like an iron and hairdryer were kept at reception and that I had to pay for Wifi.

I also had a bad experience with salmon I had for breakfast (mild food poisoning).

Barring the above - the stay was pleasant

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Rethink your booking at the town lodge! waited 15 minutes before being served a beverage due to the waitress assisting clients to order food over the phone from Mr.Delivery. Reception so poor in the dining hall you cannot even connect to google home page. There is a menu in the room, displaying wonderful food, but while sitting in the dinning area I never saw any activity in the kitchen, only to find out it isn't operational in the evening and they were bring in the food ordered in crates covered in tin foil!! Rethink your booking!

Room Tip: Rather book in the city lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacques v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review - we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and we will look into the points you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandton hotels

Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here once quite a long time ago, in 1999. We just wanted to find a safe hotel near the mall. We had a double room, which was clean and quiet. We could enjoy watching various African birds in the garden. The breakfast was good, the reception staff were helpful.This place is great for both business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eur0peankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review - why not come back for another visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

When you're looking for a place to stay, and you don't need more than a comfortable bed for the night... then this is place. It's local to most Sandton businesses for quick easy access. And if you've been at News Cafe till late, you can even walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordUlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments about our hotel - we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham Road, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A clean comfortable hotel centrally situated in Sandton . I got in early and they let me check in at 09H00 - staff very friendly and willing to assist. Parking is free , but Internet is excessive and cell reception ( MTN) shocking -

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A good place to stay if you need overnight accommodation in Sandton that is inexpensive. The newer rooms on the lower ground floor in the new section were kept away from traffic noise on Grayston drive. The buffet breakfast was good. General cleanliness was good

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front of the building by the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treasure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 48 in Sandton
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 48 in Sandton
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
FNB Conference & Learning Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
0.6 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
746 reviews
2.8 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#19 of 48 in Sandton
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive

Property: Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
Address: Cnr Grayston Drive & Webber Road | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A patio overlooking the swimming pool makes the hotel a relaxing spot in the hub of Sandton. Situated within close proximity to the M1 motorway with easy access to all major routes, 3 minutes drive to the shopping centres of Sandton City and Village Walk and a 30 minute drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive Hotel Sandton
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing