We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2010

A nice business hotel with its own parking space and spread out like an apartment complex. The lobby area is a little small but the service is examplary. The breakfast room has nice breakfast to start the day but there is no on-site restaurant. The hotel is in the middle of the hotel district in Sandton and has lots of malls and nice restuarants within walking distance (however, it is Joburg so be careful about walking). A small mall with a few shops and a great restaurant called Europa is right across the road and is a good option to eat out.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucozade_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 92 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2009

Stayed here in December asa transit between Joburg and Durban. Had travelled from San Francisco and was looking for somewhere central Sandton. And not exorbitantly priced.

Nice touch on entry with complimentary coffee and muffins. Good free parking right outside your room which was one of my bones to pick with some of the other properties close by.

Spacious enough room. Empty fridge in your room with some free juices was a nice touch. (At least I think they were free..) Dated looking bedwear but nice bathroom. All the good cable channels offered. a nie little lounge with some complimentary drinks at happy hour. Over priced, for South Africa breakfast, but convenient. Small unheated swimming pool.

Couldn't for the life of me figure out the do not disturb sign; turnsout it was some dolls with different meanings.

Walking distance to Sandton City but not recommended at night. Village Walk shopping centre is across the road.

Good value hotel transfer from airport for one at @ R220.Taxi or magic bus at an exorbitant R350.

Book over the internet as you will save big compared to the rack rate.

It did the trick for a couple of days.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

My partner and I had chosen this hotel to stay at before heading out on safari, It was one mistake after another right until we checked out!

We had pre-booked an airport transfer before leaving London which they had informed us they where aware of, nobody was at Johannesburg Airport, we where the ones having to phone them to find out what was going on. 2.5 hours later someone turned up.

Once arriving at the hotel there card facilities where not working, but they insisted it was my card. After they showed us to our room where the front door would not lock....... they let us get settled and decided to move us to another room 30min later.

Having traveled 12 hours from London we where just after some food a shower and a sleep, we ordered room service which we had to ring the front desk 45min after the original call was placed to check on, it turned up 2 hours later.

Once asleep they knocked on the door and informed me to return back to the front desk to try the card facilities again.

The best time of the hotel stay was when we went to Nelson Mandela Square for dinner and where away from this shocking excuse for a hotel.

Breakfast the next day was average at best and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LondonLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2006

Great Hotel within walking distance of Village walk mall and just a couple of minutes drive from the huge Sandton City mall and Nelson Mandella Square.

The property is very secure with electric gates operated by 24hour security guards. Parking was free.

Our room was more like a mini suite complete with kitchenette (microwave oven, small fridge, electric kettle and kitchen sink. Crockery and cutlery also provided. The room was tastefully furinshed.

Complementary drinks were available in the lounge every evening from 5.00-7.00pm (help yourself bar).

Out of these hours it operated a an "Honesty Bar"-help yourself and fill in a slip with the drinks you have had. Nice pool (although small) but we didn't get to use it as we had a lot of rain.

There is also a self service laundry with washers, driers and irons-great it you are on an extended holiday and running out of clothes as we were.

They also serve breakfast in the breakfast room but we were not up early enough for this-maybe too many complimentary drinks the evening before!

Pleasant staff-we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank simon-in-departures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Luiz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres côté sud sont calmes , les autres sont trop exposés aux bruits de la route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harry97420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msimonrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 46 in Sandton
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
0.0 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Sandton

Address: 130 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $105 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of bustling Sandton, this Courtyard Hotel exudes warmth and charm among the grandiose buildings which surround it. The ambience is true home from home comfort and relaxation. The hotel is in close proximity to The Village Walk, Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square with easy access to major motorways and only 30 minutes from Johannesburg’s international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Sandton
Sandton Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing