We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed on a business trip for 3 days. Friendly staff, clean room, great break fast with attentive service. Would stay there again. nice Irish Pub next door with reasonable prices and good meal selection.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 87 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We live in the fourways area and decided to book ourselves into a hotel for one night. We shopped around on the net and all hotels in the fourways precinct were fully booked. We then found city lodge morningside. I did an online booking but didn't get a confirmation that the booking was done. Upon check in I had found that the online booking was made, I was impressed but yet felt that I should have received the confirmation by email. Nevertheless our night stay was pleasant. Rooms were clean, the kids enjoyed their breakfast. Parking was a bit of an issue at night but we eventually found one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel - sorry not all went according to plan, but we're glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel itself is not bad at all. Romms are comfortable, clean and newly painted.
It has a small & clean swimming pool and also a GYM (for 3 people at a time, but it's something)
Full English breakfast is ok and you have also a good choice of cold fishes (herrings, slamon, etc) and fruits (guava, litches, orange, peach, figs, etc...).
BUT!
1) there is no §"true" restaurant in the hotel and the nearest restaurant is around 20 mins far (by walk)
2) if you ask to reception, they will suggest you not to wander around after 20:00, so neighbour is unsafe.
SOLUTION: take a taxi to have your dinner!

If I have to work for cell C, probably I will return here as the hotel very nea , but otherwise not.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea_Ravera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Many thanks for your review - we hope to welcome you as a guest again soon. While we don't have a restaurant as such, our coffee shop menu has recently been updated - ir is available from midday to 10pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 7 days during my business trip to Johannesburg and was intially exhilarated by the view of it, it has very clean & neat rooms, sandwich counter not a in house restaurant, buffet breakfast but the support staff lack warmth in service, some are sweet but over all they can improve by doing things as simple as smiling ! On one of the days we were standed without water but that was issue with entire Sandton not specific to hotel, and don't miss the small lovely pool at the back of hotel !

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gourabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed at City Lodges around South Africa many a time and with very positive experiences. Morningside is no different. Located on Rivonia is a big plus, as it gives one access to pretty much all of Sandton. The hotel has been refurbished - the dining area and rooms look a lot more lively than they previously did, but the "fitness room" as its called is still the same...perhaps more modern equipment could make a difference?

The staff at the hotel are warm and friendly and actually recognize repeat visitors - so that's a good thing! The rooms are clean, reasonably large and very functional. So if you're not looking for luxury but a place that gets the job done, look no further...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments about our hotel, We are glad that you enjoyed the faciliies and found the staff friendly. We hope to welcome you again at this hotel or one of our other hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I found the total experience good. The welcome was superb, the room was small but clean and functional. The breakfast spread was great although I found it expensive! I had a great experience with Nick in housekeeping when I needed to dry my gym clothes in the hotel tumble drier, He personally hand delivered my dry clothes back to my room! Unfortunately the stay was a little spoilt when the supplies were not replenished in my bathroom on a daily basis - this needs to be an area of training for the hotel. Overall though, I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great stay in newly renovated hotel, tastefully done and the staff are superb!! Well done guys!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.8 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#24 of 47 in Sandton
107 reviews
2.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
#27 of 47 in Sandton
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Capital Empire
The Capital Empire
#19 of 47 in Sandton
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
1.1 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#28 of 47 in Sandton
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside

Address: Corner Hill & Rivonia Roads | Morningside, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range: $89 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a restaurant on the property and is across the road from Morningside Clinic. It is close to a gym and 3 minutes from the shopping centres of Village Walk, Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square. The convenience of this hotel is reinforced by its close proximity to the M1 motorway and the 30 minute drive from the OR Tambo International airport. We are 2km from the Gautrain Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge - Sandton/Morningside Hotel Sandton
City Hotel Sandton Morningside
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing