We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run of the mill business accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Run of the mill business accomodation”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Average hotel
Average room
Very average breakfast (this is a pity and a City Lodge used to be something to look forward to)

The whole experience is very average. The rooms need a refresh.

Local B&B's offer better accomodation and personalised servie.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    20
    3
    8
See reviews for
4
15
4
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Close to Jhb airport, this hotel offers good service at a reasonable price. Its not flashy, but the newer section of the hotel has nice rooms. The breakfast is great - lots of variety and healthy options. The lunch and dinner menu, however, is very poor. There are reasonable restaurants in the area though (Villa Bianca is great but always busy so you need to book in advance). Parking is free and there is ample. The internet is pricey but its not bad in terms of speed. It can get a little busy during the week due to the amount of business travellers, but weekends are very quiet. The reception staff are friendly, once you get to know them, and management are very quick to respond to any concerns that you might have. The pool area is beautiful but its not very private so no one ever seems to use it. The gym is small, but the equipment is modern and the area clean. We stay here frequently when on business in SA and we are happy with it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SagMoonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2011

I spend 10-12 nights a month in the Joburg area and have happily used City Lodge hotels for years (their Fourways property where I usually stay is superb). The City Lodge Hotel in Morningside, however, is a disaster.

The initial reception is unfriendly ("Name? Smoking/non-smoking? Room 204. Up the stairs. Next!"

The rooms are small and dingy, lacking even a chest of drawers for clothes. I don't expect luxury, but because I always work in the evenings, I do expect quiet, which was not on the cards.

There was repair work taking place somewhere above my room, involving hammering and tapping on pipes from 7pm till after 9pm. Then it got worse: unfortunately the place seems to attract the class of clientele that thinks it is fine to conduct loud (shouted) conversations in the passageways outside people's doors (this went on in 10-minute waves from 9pm till well after midnight, two nights running, involving a series of groups and couples, all of whom were oblivious to the fact that they were disturbing people who wanted a little peace).

This irritation was compounded by the barely usable WiFi internet, which ran at less-than dial-up speeds (5 kbps according to my computer), crashing constantly, causing me to spend hours on a task that should have taken minutes. At R50 an hour for web access, that's just not acceptable.

I need a quiet space where I can get some work done in the evenings. This was not that place. What do you want for R900 a night? -- well with the way the hotel industry is today, you can negotiate a room down the road at the Radisson for the same rate. That's where I'll be next time I have to stay in Sandton.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandton hotels

rouen
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Johannesburg was good fun in the world cup
thought we lost we had fun
nice people food fast

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nquessada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotkreuz, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed in Morningside city lodge a few time for Business and it is a Excelent hotel very friendly staff. The English breakfast is the best. Rooms are comfartable and very neat. Cleaned daily. All rooms are modern. The location is close to Sandton City and the major financial centers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrAv3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I had passed through Jhb on work, staying at one of the Holiday Inns in the same area, several times. Took the family for a wedding in Durban, and stayed in Jhb for a few days on the way back, thought we'd try out the City Lodge.

Positioned definitely a little more towards the budget end of he scale than the Holiday Inns, but excellent value for money. Booked through the web and got an even better rate that way. Plenty of parking space. No bellboys (folks from India as I am, who tend *not* to travel light, and expect the same number of people waiting on you as in India, please take note!) - guests are expected to carry their own bags, US style. To be fair, most guests are short-stay guests without the kind of enormous baggage train my dear old grandmother, bless her, always travelled with.

Rooms not huge, but fitted out adequately and have everything a regular traveller would need. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

When we decided to extend our stay by a day, the lady at Reception quoted us an over-the-counter price, but herself suggested we try the web, for a better price that was only available on-line. There was a tiny internet cafe, with three PCs hooked up, just a few steps from Reception, so there we were. Gave a nice sense, that staff were interested in making sure guests got a good deal and were happy, rather than simply exploiting a situation to impose the higher rate.

Had an experience similar to that mentioned by another guest, of leaving something (relatively low value - child's toy) behind by mistake, but recovering it a day later - staff found it, and kept it safe for us.

Generally great service, even if classified as a budget hotel.

  • Liked — Location (proximity to Sandton City), Good Value for Money
  • Disliked — Not the most spacious of rooms - but for everything else that came with it, not complaining
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Non-Red-Indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

This hotel is situated in Sandton, north of Johannesburg. There is a secure parking, restaurant and bar. Also, next door there is an Irish pub, also serving food. Rooms are ok, but nothing special. Beds were not particularly comfortable. I should also mention that , we have forgotten something in the hotel, and safely recovered several days later in housekeeping (they were very helpful).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
0.5 mi away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
0.8 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 48 in Sandton
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 48 in Sandton
156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
749 reviews
2.8 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#19 of 48 in Sandton
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside

Property: City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Address: Corner Hill & Rivonia Roads | Morningside, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a restaurant on the property and is across the road from Morningside Clinic. It is close to a gym and 3 minutes from the shopping centres of Village Walk, Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square. The convenience of this hotel is reinforced by its close proximity to the M1 motorway and the 30 minute drive from the OR Tambo International airport. We are 2km from the Gautrain Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge - Sandton/Morningside Hotel Sandton
City Hotel Sandton Morningside
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing