We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I choose this hotel whenever I need to stay in the Bryanston area. The staff are extremely friendly and the room is comfortable. Whenever I have a problem the staff will go out of their way to help. The hotel is very simple, with no airs and graces, but it provides a level of comfort which is more than adequate for a night or two.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter. There is no lift so book on the ground floor if you bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We're so pleased to hear that we are your 1st choice when you travel to Bryanston. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
6
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

It's hard to believe that in this day and age, a hotel catering for the business traveller could be so bad - but you better believe it...the City Lodge in Bryanston, Johannesberg is that hotel!

Where to begin? With the completely useless staff at reception,not the duty manageress who just did the verbal shoulder-shrug and batted off complaints by handing out a form to the kitchen staff who even after an hour, were unable to produce a toasted sandwich...

Wifi advertised, but when you get there, you find out that free wifi actually means only one hour - really useful to the business traveller...not! And it didn't work either. A line speed of 0.04 Mbps was slower than a tortoise in hibernation. Even their tech support people admitted they'd complain if they had have been staying there. The had apparently already advised the chain's owners that the line speed they were paying for was insufficient to meet the needs of a hotel ( and I use the term loosely) of this size. But this advice has been ignored to date.

And then the shocking inability of the restaurant to be able to produce an ordered sandwich... I gave up after an hour and went to Spur around the corner. I'm dreading to think what breakfast will be like..

All in all, a no no in the future...ever. And that includes their other branches. It's just not worth it. My advice- give City Lodge a great big swerve.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaye_Richards-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for the review. Please accept our apologies -we will most definitely look into this as we do with these sorts of matters. Please note that we only recently started offering one hour free so this is an improvement for us. Thank you for informing us about the issues you came across during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel was perfectly friendly. when I returned early evening to have something to eat., It took an eternity and a great deal of chasing to get them to produce food from their menu (an hour and a half). They said it was because of the slowness of the microwave. If this comment gets them to upgrade their microwave ovens then this review will have served a purpose. Furthermore the staff dealt with the delay by ignoring the customers instead of apologising and telling us what the situation is.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the review. We apologize for the inconvenience experienced with regards to the food. We will definitely look into the microwave dilemma. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
200 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A neat and tidy hotel located near all amenities. The hotel is also close to coachmans crossing which boasts numerous eaterys. The rooms are roomy and clean. The dining room also catering very well for the discerning breakfast eater.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thommo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

One night was spent in this hotel, while on a short trip to Johannesburg. The location of this hotel is excellent. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was good. However, I was disappointed to find that on arrival in our room, whoever had cleaned the shower had left a clump of hair there, which in my books is a huge turnoff. I complained and the shower was cleaned again. The other complaint was that our room was located above the security guard hut, which resulted in us hearing talking until well after midnight. We eventually had to close the window and turn on the aircon. Our children were in a separate room, and we had to ask for bedding for the pull out bed, as by ten pm, this still hadn't been delivered. Have had better..

Room Tip: Not above guard hut
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizareintges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and staff. However, we apologize for the inconvenience with regards to the bedding and noise. We will take this into account for future reference. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Overall a good hotel. Very good service from the staff, nice size room, good breakfast, large and clean pool. My most important requirement for a business hotel however is a good, working Internet connection. And here this hotel falls far short (I must mention though that they use a third party provide : AlwaysOn, not sure who's fault it is). The Internet connection was mostly unusably slow. I couldn't get any work done at the hotel in the evenings. I'd have to consider another hotel in the future for business trips due to this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of upgrading our internet offering - so watch this space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton on Sea, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had to turn into aside street to find it, however my Tom Tom showed the way without fail.
Despite a small booking error, the reception was quick, friendly and efficient. The room allocated was clean and to the normal business standard.
Food was ordered via Mr Delivery which arrived within the specified time and the Bar Service provided a glass of excellent wine.
Breakfast was of good quality offering a large choice.
Checkout was hassle free an friendly with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, August 25, 2016
Thank you for staying with us and for the great review Hendrik D. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.5 mi away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
4.0 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
4.9 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
1.5 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
3.1 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Bryanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Bryanston

Property: City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
Address: cnr Main Road & Peter Place | Bryanston West, Sandton 2125, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Bryanston 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is built on the site of an old nursery, with a well manicured garden and sparkling swimming pool. Within walking distance of many restaurants and across the road from the Sandton Clinic. It is also equipped with a fitness room, meeting room and a swimming pool and is conveniently located 10 minutes from the N1 Western Bypass, 3 minutes from Randburg’s CBD and shopping area, and 10 minutes from Sandton’s CBD and shopping centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Bryanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Bryanston Hotel Sandton
City Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing