We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Hilton, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location, but disappointed”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

One night was spent in this hotel, while on a short trip to Johannesburg. The location of this hotel is excellent. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was good. However, I was disappointed to find that on arrival in our room, whoever had cleaned the shower had left a clump of hair there, which in my books is a huge turnoff. I complained and the shower was cleaned again. The other complaint was that our room was located above the security guard hut, which resulted in us hearing talking until well after midnight. We eventually had to close the window and turn on the aircon. Our children were in a separate room, and we had to ask for bedding for the pull out bed, as by ten pm, this still hadn't been delivered. Have had better..

Room Tip: Not above guard hut
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizareintges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and staff. However, we apologize for the inconvenience with regards to the bedding and noise. We will take this into account for future reference. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
6
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Overall a good hotel. Very good service from the staff, nice size room, good breakfast, large and clean pool. My most important requirement for a business hotel however is a good, working Internet connection. And here this hotel falls far short (I must mention though that they use a third party provide : AlwaysOn, not sure who's fault it is). The Internet connection was mostly unusably slow. I couldn't get any work done at the hotel in the evenings. I'd have to consider another hotel in the future for business trips due to this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of upgrading our internet offering - so watch this space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton on Sea, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had to turn into aside street to find it, however my Tom Tom showed the way without fail.
Despite a small booking error, the reception was quick, friendly and efficient. The room allocated was clean and to the normal business standard.
Food was ordered via Mr Delivery which arrived within the specified time and the Bar Service provided a glass of excellent wine.
Breakfast was of good quality offering a large choice.
Checkout was hassle free an friendly with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, August 25, 2016
Thank you for staying with us and for the great review Hendrik D. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXB
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Booked into this hotel as I needed to see a doc at the Mediclinic next door in the midst of my travel in Africa. As it turns out, it was an excellent choice - good clean rooms, excellent sleep quality with decent breakfast, an excellent outdoor seating area by the pool and overall bright atmosphere. Vending machines are available on every floor for snack/soda/water requirements, and 'room service' consists of a wide selection of food from an off-site delivery service - I liked the fact that they give you all options despite not having the infrastructure on-site. Very cost effective, but the property has been maintained as well as any full-service hotel, so it doesnt ever give you that 'budget' feel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review - we are so glad that our hotel met your needs and expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Over the past few years I have often stayed at the City Lodge hotels around South Africa. These visits have slowed down as they have not been willing to offer to me a special room rate. Today I am back for various reasons. I must say that I love the decor and design of the foyer of this hotel. It is modern and well finished in beautiful textures and designs. The rooms however are a bit stale with old carpets and a really old shower with a very slow shower drain. I do also think that the reception staff are great and very efficient.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantH490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your visit and for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Safe parking, friendly check in, clean rooms! Using bid2stay.co.za makes it very economical! Convenient decent hotel in sandton, close to the motor way, shopping centres and northern suburbs. Did not try the breakfast or Restuarant but its all above board! legit!

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard swimming pool and central garden area was an added benefit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for your comments - we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
391 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was our first trip to South Africa. This hotel was OK, but the internet access was free only for 15 mn. The room offers good quality. May be a little bit noisy in the morning on the side of the clinic.
Breakfasts (buffets) are very diversified.
This place seems to be quite safe.
Nice gardens and protected car parks

Room Tip: the swimming pool was dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageurlyonnais58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, August 25, 2016
Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review voyageurlyonnais58. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.5 mi away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
4.0 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 47 in Sandton
723 reviews
4.9 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 47 in Sandton
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Annabel's of Bryanston
Annabel's of Bryanston
#1 of 3 in Bryanston
47 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
4.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Bryanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Bryanston

Property: City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
Address: cnr Main Road & Peter Place | Bryanston West, Sandton 2125, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Bryanston 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is built on the site of an old nursery, with a well manicured garden and sparkling swimming pool. Within walking distance of many restaurants and across the road from the Sandton Clinic. It is also equipped with a fitness room, meeting room and a swimming pool and is conveniently located 10 minutes from the N1 Western Bypass, 3 minutes from Randburg’s CBD and shopping area, and 10 minutes from Sandton’s CBD and shopping centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Bryanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Bryanston Hotel Sandton
City Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing