We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$259
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
$135
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$295
$287
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$109
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
$176
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$191
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$116
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
583
51
22
12
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
51
22
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler serviceluke dale robertspresidential suiteafrican artthe main hotelhigh teaprivate residencenelson mandelamolton brown toiletriesterrace restaurantboutique hotelfour seasonsgorgeous hotelcape townan oasisworld classspent one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 682 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Definitely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! I have stayed here twice in the last year and have not been disappointed. Great spacious rooms, excellent service and a cuisine that goes beyond the standard. Sure there is an occasional glitch, but this is quickly made up by every request that the staff seeks to fulfil. Not cheap, but worth it if you appreciate service beyond the set standard.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

This will be a very short review. We stayed in the Saxon in March 2009 for 30 hours, which was way too short considering the splendid grounds and exceptional service that this property provided.

When we arrived from the airport via the car provided by the hotel, we were greeted by name and our luggage was taken away in a second. It felt like coming home no long registration process, just a quick signature and we were taken to our suite while a very competent “receptionist” /“host” while he explained the different facilities and asked if we would like to have dinner in the restaurant, have time booked in the SPA etc. We asked if we could do a late check out (due to departing on a late plane) and he said he would check it out immediately. 5 minutes later we received a call saying everything was okay. That was the standard for our stay, everything we asked for we got in less than 5 minutes. The suites are very nice and well equipped the only small critic point would be the light system. It worked relatively well but going to the bathroom at night required swishing on the bathroom lights which would illuminate the room and bother your companion (we stayed once at rio internacional and they had a very smart system with a blue light that permitted you to see enough but wasn’t too bright).

Otherwise the grounds are beautifully, nice garden, amazing pools (there are a multitude of them)

The restaurant is excellent and of high gastronomic value (even though there were few choices for my wife since she is less adventurous in meat choice than I am, limiting herself to beef, chicken or pork).

We tried the spa and had to essential oil massages, this was also perfect. Nice settings competent service.

We would certainly come back to this property next time we are in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We spent two perfect nights in this world class oasis after our long exhausting journey from NY. Expensive, but worth every penny. Don't miss the hotel's exquisite restaurant with sophisticated, well executed cooking that could easily compete with any Michelin 2 star in France. An extraordinary hotel.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank leloir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Room: We stayed in the Nelson Mandela Suite which was unbelievable. Need I say more?

Food: The food was delicious and decadent.
For your in-room dining pleasure you get to choose exactly what your heart desires. Want fat free milk on your gluten-free organic Brazilian cereal? Just tick the appropriate box.
They try to indulge your every need.

Service: excellent/personal/attention to detail.

The spa:
There are interesting treatments to choose from, including sound therapy.

Location: The location is fantastic. Central and accessible.

If you must be in Johannesburg, then the Saxon is an outstanding choice, perhaps even the single rose among the thorns!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GlobeSniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We spent a night at the Saxon before flying to Mauritius, I would happily have spent a week there. The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived, the suites were beautiful and there were so many beautiful areas to relax and unwind.

We had dinner on the pool terrace and even a simple meal was beautifully cooked and presented.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like VIPs, I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Johannesburg.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Belfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews