We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$263
$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
$247
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$218
$149
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
$128
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$209
$150
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$145
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$212
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
$145
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveler rating
589
51
23
12
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
589
51
23
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler serviceluke dale robertspresidential suiteafrican artthe main hotelhigh teaprivate residencenelson mandelamolton brown toiletriesterrace restaurantboutique hotelfour seasonsgorgeous hotelcape townan oasisworld classspent one night
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 689 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Just wanted to share that the High Tea and Brunch was one of the best in terms of quality, service, cleanliness and ambiance that we have been for - Highly recommended. The price of these events are fairly reasonable too (R190pp for High Tea and R400 pp for brunch). The brunch selection was amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Dear FYR,

Thank you for your positive commentry on The Saxon Boutique Hotel, VIllas & Spa.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon as we would love to go above and beyond, and make your stay even more memorable than the last.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Fabulous layout like a large luxurious villa with rooms opening into a spacious communal area of living, dining, library, bar areas. Felt like I was at home. Service was unobtrusive but every present. Rooms had all the latest mod cons and of a large size - very comfortable.

This is definitely a hotel to stay in and enjoy all it has to offer. Lucky the food is fantastic so I enjoyed eating in.

Try the signature spa treatments. Imagine your body being massaged according to the tempo of great music and finally getting a drumming to Frank Sinatra singing "Fly me to the Moon". Sublime.

Johannesburg is not a city for walking about in so location is not paramount - just has to be in a decent area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

M wife and I had the chance to go on a site inspection to a couple of lodges and hotels in South Africa and before returning to Argentina we has the chance to stay for 1 night at this hotel! The staff are extremely professional with good knowledge of the hotel itself and its history and the decor in every corner of the hotel is just WOW! Truly African in all its aspects, the Saxon has what every person dreams of....such as a complementary computer as well as beverages in your room. The hotel even gave us a complimentary champagne.
It is worthy every penny you pay and every second you spend in the hotel is a second you will never forget. I recommend this hotel as well as combine it with one of the group's properties, Shambala Private Game Reserve

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasalPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Recently went on a whirlwind trip of South Africa, stayed mostly only one night in a few selected hotels which we decided to splurge on as most nights we stayed with friends.

The most expensive of all the hotels we selected, was The Saxon. We read amazing things on-line about this hotel. We do not regret a penny we paid as this place is a little slice of heaven.

Tucked away in huge gardens, the hotel does feel like a huge house in the countryside, you dont feel like you are in the middle of South Africa's largest city at all. It is extremely beautiful, decorated in understated luxe-Africa style. The artwork scattered around the public areas and our room was simply amazing, we spent an hour just exploring the hotel looking at the art.
It has 2 outdoor pools (yes 2! one heated and one huge cold pool), a very stylish high tech gym and one of the best spas i have ever seen. As we went overboard with the room spent, we decided against a treatment however the spa pool, jacuzzi and plunge pool was available for guests touse, which was a great treat.
Our room was huge, it was what they called their 'standard suite', however it is definately the biggest standard i have ever seen! It comes with all the mod-cons and even a laptop which is already connected to the internet (complimentary!)

We went out for dinner as the hotel is so central, however breakfast was again just unbelievable, I have never seen a breakfast buffet with so much on offer (sushi and fresh oysters)!

The staff was very friendly but not in your face as we experienced in some hotels, they were very engaging but knew when to leave you be, which adds to the tranquility of the place.

This is a great hotel, it is expensvie (loads of celebrities and royalty stay here), but it is worth it in my opinion for a special treat. You only live once!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelbaby_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

The boutique hotel is beautiful and so chic in its decor. The room was very comfortable and well equipped with 2 of everything (even 2 TV remote controls!!) and 2 bedside telephones! Its also had a laptop computer for your use on the desk. And wondersul Molton Brown toiletries. The breakfast was also great, Will definitely stay here again if I have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews