We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair to Middling”
Review of Hilton Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sandton
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Stayed recently as part of Lions trip. Rooms average, mini bar fridge makes noise to such an extent that it was turned off when we arrived, only managed to have it on when out of the room, Mini Bar not replenched daily.

Main bar unable to cope with orders and ran out of drink. Very slow service generally in all aspects of the hotel.
Fitness Suite at the back of the hotel and only basis.expensive enough internet access..
Good location with bus to Sandton Shopping Centre, where great selection of restaurants and bars available.
Not a great 5 star hotel and will have to improve if it is to cope with football fans next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dundrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2009

The service, specially the concierges was superb.

The room was an average room but the price was not. You have to pay for internet access but it is too slow...

The guys from the front desk are not kind enough and they treat you like they are doing you a favor (with the exception of one person).

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcesarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Stay away if you can. The service is appalling and above all extremely slow (more than 20 min to check-in at 10pm when there were no other guests, one of my colleagues reservation could not be found eventhough she had the confirmation number, the a la carte menu at the restaurant has several item which actually are not served, one diner I was told after more than 40 min that actually my choice was no longer available and to pick another dish!, my colleagues and I ended up having to look for our luggage in the storage room because the hotel staff could not find them eventhough we had help by providing them description of the bag and by the way the storage room had approximately only 30 pieces of luggages, etc etc etc), the hotel feels old (damage in the rooms, sofa material cuts), it is also noisy as you can hear other guests whilst in your room (go woken up at 3am), the gym is very small without any windows. For a 5 star rated hotel, what a disappointment. Needs renovation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Hotel overall is par for a Hilton. Rooms are clean although the service is almost non-existent as far as service with a smile is concerned. Breakfast buffet is the typical breakfast buffet found in most US and international hotels. If
The main drawback for me is the shuttle service to and from the Nelson Mandela Square. It ends at 5 or 6pm which is too early if you plan on having dinner anywhere else. Although it is suppose to be available on request, the service was not available on a Saturday and we had to take a taxi from the Intercontinental Hotel.
If you plan on having dinner at the hotel, it is fine. But if you plan on eating out every night, the service is not consistent for me.
We stayed at the Hotel Intercontinental 4 years ago and that was convenient as the hotel is connected to the square.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

A Lovely place to conduct Business.
its just located at the centre of the City, everything is just a Stone throw Distance away.
Ambience is nice, Rooms are Clean and somewhat Spacious, Services is excellent.
But the Lobby is too cramped up, not the usual Hilton Style which has large spacious Entrances and Lobby.
No Idea o n rates, was on Corporate booking

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JSSharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Good location in Sandton, close to malls with a free shuttle to the Nelson Mandela Square. Above average Hilton with breakfast included and pleasant staff. We had some issues with housekeeping but they were quickly resolved. Hotel will also store your luggage while on Safari. I would probably chose another hotel in the area if staying in Johannesburg again. Spent two days before and after a Safari in Botswana.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thejeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I'm glad to confirm that my stay at Hilton Sandton exceeded my expectations. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Room was clean and well equipped, and food was good too!
I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.6 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandton

Address: 138 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $102 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sandton 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandton Hotel Sandton
Hilton International Sandton
Sandton Hilton International
Hilton Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing