We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Hilton hotel”
Review of Hilton Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sandton
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Standard Hilton hotel”
Reviewed November 17, 2007

Stayed here for two nights during a short stay to see the sights of Gauteng.

Our itinery was planned out in advance, so we were only using the hotel as a base. The hotel location seems a bit out of the way, but I believe this is quite standard in the Jo'burg area if you want to be safe.

This was a standard Hilton hotel, so we weren't expecting to experience anything South African. However the restauarant did serve some very nice local food.

  • Liked — Lovely rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    458
    219
    100
    62
See reviews for
119
214
81
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Padova, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

standard hilton, good posizton (5 min of safe walk to sandton city and Mandela square).

The forgot to replace our towels and forgot to put one of the 2 pillow cases...

nice bar

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Checco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2007

Went for business. It was nice but had several small problems with getting enough towels (universal problem outside USA) and rollaway bed. Pool was gorgeous and quiet. Great exercise area. Pricey breakfast. Internet only in common areas. Staff recommended great safari guide. Near Sandton City mall but you don't want to walk there at night. Taxis right outside the door 24 7 though. Very clean.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — not enough towels
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sapodilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Rooms are luxurious; food was wonderful; and the location terrific. This hotel is a winner.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank voyager81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
211 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Sandton Hilton for two nights. As a Hilton property, it was about what we would expect. We expressly stayed in Sandton because friends had advised us not to stay in the heart of Joburg even though some of our meetings were in Joburg which was about 30-40 minutes by taxi.

We were in the Club Lounge floor but I found the staff in the Club Lounge were not as service-oriented as those in other Hiltons we've stayed at. The food was also not quite as good nor as varied as we've had elsewhere.

The hotel is far from the bustle of the city although there are some good shopping areas minutes from it.

I would recommend using the taxi/car hire folks who are attached to the Hilton itself. They are parked right on the property and the concierge can arrange rides for you. During our stay, we used one driver for two days (Tabhani) and we found him not only to be very helpful and knowledgeable but also trustworthy. Given all the crime warnings we got before and during our stay in SA, it's important to get the right driver and guide.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Domrcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Stayed here for two nights.

The location is good and safe but the hotel lacks class.

The bathroom lights were inadequate because one light bulb didn’t work. The tiny TV in the room was a joke. At breakfast the salt dispenser was empty and no napkins were laid out.

I was told that I was staying in the newly renovated rooms – hate to think what the alternative looks like.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackStoneTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Bog standard Hilton and that is a good thing. But beware...
Service in restaurant can be very slow indeed, and often things had to be chased (or ordered twice at breakfast when they never appeared). Spending a week there on business I used the buffet/carvery for speed, more than once. One night a main course took 60 minutes to come and a dessert (not one needing much if any 'cooking') took 35 minutes - even after we were told it would be "just a minute" at five minute intervals after the first 20 minutes of waiting! Not helpful when you are working the evenings as well and want to take an hour or 90 minutes out to eat and end up taking well over 2 hours for a 2 course meal. And the restaurant was probably only handing less than 30-40 covers at the time, maybe 20-25% of its capacity. Also 2 or 3 of our party did have stomach "issues" during the week. Possibly from the seafood on the buffet but it may have been something else or indeed a more innocent reason but none of us ate anywhere but the hotel for the first 4 days.

And as we had to use the hotel business/meeting rooms at very short notice for a whole week (due to the loss of our planned meeting venue) we learnt that you need to also be very clear if you use these facilities, as to exactly what you are being charged for. They quoted us a rate per head which was fine but they told us it was inclusive (rooms, equipment use, lunch per delegate, tea, coffee etc) and then the charges kept going up during the week. Settling bill required some robust negotiation which did result in a more sensible total once the whole matter was taken up with management who were gracious enough to admit that they had not managed things too well even though we were arranging things at short notice.

Chef seems to run the place and not very well. Asked for a buffet/finger lunch for 20ish people with a full 24 hours notice and told "no can do - chef needs more notice to order ingredients" A hotel this size that cannot order a few extra ingredients for the next day has a real problem with either its supply chain or its catering team. One suspects the latter given the restaurant problems.

Other than that all staff very welcoming, friendly, helpful and it IS a nice place to stay. Probably if they got a new head chef and were to be a bit more nimble on their feet, all would be sweetness and light. Don't avoid staying there because of this, it IS a good hotel - just be aware that the restaurant can be a bit less than you'd expect in a normal Hilton of this standard.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank george57l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandton

Property: Hilton Sandton
Address: 138 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sandton 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandton Hotel Sandton
Hilton International Sandton
Sandton Hilton International
Hilton Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing