We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$251
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$74
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$368
$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$181
$167
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$114
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$143
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$118
$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$206
$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
201
150
42
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
150
42
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern sunkelsey's restauranthome away from homeatholl squaremini kitchena nice place to staybreakfast and dinneran excellent hotelshuttle servicesandton citymain buildingtsogo sunthe hotel staffsouth africahotel roombusiness tripfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 412 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2009

This is situated in a nice, calm and safe place. The hotel looked more like a Resort than the usual pomp of a hotel. No other amenities other than a swimming pool... not even a gym. But the reception staff are friendly. Short distance from the famous Nelson Mandela Square.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pearl11Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

I managed to get to the hotel from Jo-burg airport, the cost was around 350 Rand.
The first thing that grabbed me was that there is plenty of security up at the main entrance. Checking in was straightforward and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, large and very spacious, decor was very good as well. The bathroom was very large as well.
Despite being on a main road, the hotel room was surprisingly quiet.
Staff were always smiling and very helpful. The hotel taxi was very good and I took it to work and out in the evenings to hop to Mandela square - all in all - a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_Virdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

This was my first time to stay at the Southern Sun on Katherine Street and I am so happy that I've made the choice to stay there!

The hotel is located between Bryanston and Sandton, which connects fairly easily to Fourways and the airport, depending on the traffic. What is particular about this hotel is that your room is not in one massive building, as with so many hotels, but is in fact part of several large bungalows, as part of a compound. This allows for a lot of green around the rooms, and easy access straight to your room via car. The compound is guarded with high walls, as well as security. I admit, I was skeptical about the security at first but all went well and it does appear to be very safe.

My room had a wonderful bathroom with a big bath! Now here is a bath that you can actually stretch and really relax! What a rare thing to find. The room was impeccably clean, with a nice and very comfortable bed. There was even a small terrace, which, regretfully, did not have any chairs and table to sit outside. The airconditionning was based inside, which made cool air a noisy affair. Some people may mind about that.

The restaurant was excellent, serving huge portions, of fresh and deliciously prepared food. Slightly on the expensive side, but throroughly worth it if you don't want to go outside to have a meal. Breakfast was delicious, though again, somewhat on the expensive side.

Room service was excellent throughout. Nicholas from guest relations was most helpful to make my stay perfect.

Price-wise we are looking a good value for money. Many hotels, especially in Sandton, are unjustifiably overpriced, whilst the Southern Sun on Katherine Street offers a cozy and comfortable alternative. I sincerely hope it will stay this way.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 062211d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Decent rooms (I had one with a view to quite inner garden), safe box in the room, great breakfast. Enjoyed a small open air cafe next to the pool inside and the Greek cafe Mythos (on the 2-nd Fl. of the retail building across the street).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uralize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We were booked into the Holiday Inn, Sandton for a night after returning from safari in Botswana & before returning home. Upon arrival we discovered that around 500 or more young boys & families were in the hotel due to a football tournament. They were up & down the halls kicking the ball, holding elevators, & in general just doing things football kids do. Not exactly conductive for a nice quiet stay. The lovely lady at the front desk made arrangements to transfer our stay to the Southern Sun, a 5 minute cab ride away but in essence, a world away! The room was large & nicely, if basically equipped & with a great shower. The staff was so friendly & accomodating & the breakfast outstanding. There is a delightful lanai-type place for drinks around the pool & a lovely garden. Just across the street is a small, sort of upscale mini-mall with a couple of nice restaurants. However, it's an easy 15 minute walk to Sandton City Mall & Nelson Mandela Square where shopping abounds. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowornever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews