We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$209
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$266
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$147
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$235
$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$97
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$113
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
201
149
42
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
149
42
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern sunkelsey's restauranthome away from homeatholl squaremini kitchena nice place to staybreakfast and dinneran excellent hotelshuttle servicesandton citymain buildingtsogo sunthe hotel staffsouth africahotel roombusiness tripfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 411 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017

This hotel doesn't jump out at you when you search Sandton hotels, which is a pity, as it is excellent. The levels of customer service exceed most others, the room was clean, quiet and in a very good state in terms of everything working and tasteful. Wifi is good, a major issue for me and the hotel restaurant, Kelsey's, greatly improved recently. it is not in the centre of the business area but they have a shuttle, which takes only a couple of minutes,

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele I, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing this TripAdvisor review and taking the extra time to comment on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to see that you had a pleasant and memorable experience at the hotel; especially your comments regarding our team are much appreciated as this is the type of experience we strive to achieve for all our guests!

Having said that, we hope to be afforded the opportunity of welcoming you back to Southern Sun Katherine Street in the near future!

Warm regards,

Gabi Ihrybauer
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

My experience was excellent. I would recommend my friends to go to southern Sun.
The room is spacious and the shower is excellent. ... .
The shuttle service is excellent.
The breakfast Team that assists is friendly and flexible.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank antoniojustinof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele I, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for submitting your TripAdvisor review and taking the extra time to comment on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you had an enjoyable and memorable experience at the hotel and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Katherine Street in the near future!


Warm regards,

Gabi Ihrybauer
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Good Location and rooms but HORRIBLE service..when we arrived, the reception lady communicated us with awful english, and from time to time she'd turn and speak in her local language with the other receptionist. The boy who took ours bags to the room after insisting a lot, stood face to face waiting for tips ... and the breakfast no one in the hotel could explain how it worked, a guy from the restaurant had to explain...The hotel employees had very little desire to help :S

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 5, 2017

Dear Douglas M,

We apologize for the various inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us, which have created such an unfavourable impression.

The points you have raised are noted and will be attended to by management.

The staff member who assisted you with your luggage is our long serving porter, Daniel.


Kind regards,

Gabi Ihrybauer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

My grandson and I arrived around 5pm to a large room that was clean with comfortable beds. I didn't use any of the amenities except the free computer in a room right behind the check-in. This was the first hotel where you check in sitting in a comfortable chair.
Breakfast was included in our stay. There was fruit, cereal, rolls, coffee and juice. If you wanted hot items, you had to order from the buffet.
Overall it was an excellent hotel. I didn't see much of the neighborhood because I was only there for two evenings and left very early in the morning on the third day.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tch912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

beautiful and well appointed suites, very friendly staff, secure parking
great food and the menu caters for all tastes
very central location
best stay, the rooms very comfortable and spacious and so clean

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank venassap2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 4, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing this review and taking the extra time to comment on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to see you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at the hotel; especially your comments regarding our team are much appreciated, as this is the type of experience we strive to achieve for all our guests!

Having said this, we hope to be afforded the opportunity of welcoming you back to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton in the near future.


Warm regards,

Gabi Ihrybauer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews