We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
205
154
43
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
154
43
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern sunkelsey's restauranthome away from homeatholl squaremini kitchena nice place to staybreakfast and dinneran excellent hotelshuttle servicesandton citymain buildingtsogo sunthe hotel staffsouth africahotel roombusiness tripfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 422 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2009

This was my first time to stay at the Southern Sun on Katherine Street and I am so happy that I've made the choice to stay there!

The hotel is located between Bryanston and Sandton, which connects fairly easily to Fourways and the airport, depending on the traffic. What is particular about this hotel is that your room is not in one massive building, as with so many hotels, but is in fact part of several large bungalows, as part of a compound. This allows for a lot of green around the rooms, and easy access straight to your room via car. The compound is guarded with high walls, as well as security. I admit, I was skeptical about the security at first but all went well and it does appear to be very safe.

My room had a wonderful bathroom with a big bath! Now here is a bath that you can actually stretch and really relax! What a rare thing to find. The room was impeccably clean, with a nice and very comfortable bed. There was even a small terrace, which, regretfully, did not have any chairs and table to sit outside. The airconditionning was based inside, which made cool air a noisy affair. Some people may mind about that.

The restaurant was excellent, serving huge portions, of fresh and deliciously prepared food. Slightly on the expensive side, but throroughly worth it if you don't want to go outside to have a meal. Breakfast was delicious, though again, somewhat on the expensive side.

Room service was excellent throughout. Nicholas from guest relations was most helpful to make my stay perfect.

Price-wise we are looking a good value for money. Many hotels, especially in Sandton, are unjustifiably overpriced, whilst the Southern Sun on Katherine Street offers a cozy and comfortable alternative. I sincerely hope it will stay this way.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 062211d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Decent rooms (I had one with a view to quite inner garden), safe box in the room, great breakfast. Enjoyed a small open air cafe next to the pool inside and the Greek cafe Mythos (on the 2-nd Fl. of the retail building across the street).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uralize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We were booked into the Holiday Inn, Sandton for a night after returning from safari in Botswana & before returning home. Upon arrival we discovered that around 500 or more young boys & families were in the hotel due to a football tournament. They were up & down the halls kicking the ball, holding elevators, & in general just doing things football kids do. Not exactly conductive for a nice quiet stay. The lovely lady at the front desk made arrangements to transfer our stay to the Southern Sun, a 5 minute cab ride away but in essence, a world away! The room was large & nicely, if basically equipped & with a great shower. The staff was so friendly & accomodating & the breakfast outstanding. There is a delightful lanai-type place for drinks around the pool & a lovely garden. Just across the street is a small, sort of upscale mini-mall with a couple of nice restaurants. However, it's an easy 15 minute walk to Sandton City Mall & Nelson Mandela Square where shopping abounds. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowornever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Plus points: big rooms, fantastic shower, friendly staff, pretty gardens
Minus points: taxi needed to go anywhere (50R to Sandton Sq), bar shuts very early (10:30pm)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotlight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I have had some difficulty finding a hotel I really enjoy staying at in Sandton but on my 4th trip I struck lucky. The Southern Sun Katherine Street is reminiscent of a resort hotel with it's low rise construction and bar and restaurant around a small pool and set in pretty gardens.

It has quickly become an oasis away from the slightly edgy atmosphere in Joburg. I much prefer this to the hotels, such as the Michaelangelo around Nelson Mandela Square. The rooms are large, in particular the rooms away from the main building with large bathroom, very good shower, mini-kitchen and king size bed.

Breakfast is very good with buffet + cooked breakfast ordered separately. The fruit is excellent and juice freshly squeezed. The hotel restaurant is definitely worth dining in with a good selection of steaks and seafood. Opposite the hotel is Atholl Square Shopping Centre within which is the Grill House, a top class steak house.

Now the downsides: 1)Whilst it is great to be away from it all it means that almost everything is a taxi fare away. The hotel has a good supply of cars and drivers but you will always pay at least R50 to get to other parts of Sandton. 2) The laid back nature of the staff could be miscontrued as them not really caring whether you have an OK stay or a great stay. I have come across this in all the hotels in Sandton so maybe it's just a cultural thing that I have to learn to live with.

Overall a really excellent hotel which allows you to truly relax after a hard day keeping out of trouble in Joburg.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tree888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews