We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$251
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$73
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$230
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$368
$347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$200
$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$118
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$173
$142
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
201
149
42
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
149
42
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern sunkelsey's restauranthome away from homeatholl squaremini kitchena nice place to staybreakfast and dinneran excellent hotelshuttle servicesandton citymain buildingtsogo sunthe hotel staffsouth africahotel roombusiness tripfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 411 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Decent rooms (I had one with a view to quite inner garden), safe box in the room, great breakfast. Enjoyed a small open air cafe next to the pool inside and the Greek cafe Mythos (on the 2-nd Fl. of the retail building across the street).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uralize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We were booked into the Holiday Inn, Sandton for a night after returning from safari in Botswana & before returning home. Upon arrival we discovered that around 500 or more young boys & families were in the hotel due to a football tournament. They were up & down the halls kicking the ball, holding elevators, & in general just doing things football kids do. Not exactly conductive for a nice quiet stay. The lovely lady at the front desk made arrangements to transfer our stay to the Southern Sun, a 5 minute cab ride away but in essence, a world away! The room was large & nicely, if basically equipped & with a great shower. The staff was so friendly & accomodating & the breakfast outstanding. There is a delightful lanai-type place for drinks around the pool & a lovely garden. Just across the street is a small, sort of upscale mini-mall with a couple of nice restaurants. However, it's an easy 15 minute walk to Sandton City Mall & Nelson Mandela Square where shopping abounds. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowornever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Plus points: big rooms, fantastic shower, friendly staff, pretty gardens
Minus points: taxi needed to go anywhere (50R to Sandton Sq), bar shuts very early (10:30pm)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotlight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I have had some difficulty finding a hotel I really enjoy staying at in Sandton but on my 4th trip I struck lucky. The Southern Sun Katherine Street is reminiscent of a resort hotel with it's low rise construction and bar and restaurant around a small pool and set in pretty gardens.

It has quickly become an oasis away from the slightly edgy atmosphere in Joburg. I much prefer this to the hotels, such as the Michaelangelo around Nelson Mandela Square. The rooms are large, in particular the rooms away from the main building with large bathroom, very good shower, mini-kitchen and king size bed.

Breakfast is very good with buffet + cooked breakfast ordered separately. The fruit is excellent and juice freshly squeezed. The hotel restaurant is definitely worth dining in with a good selection of steaks and seafood. Opposite the hotel is Atholl Square Shopping Centre within which is the Grill House, a top class steak house.

Now the downsides: 1)Whilst it is great to be away from it all it means that almost everything is a taxi fare away. The hotel has a good supply of cars and drivers but you will always pay at least R50 to get to other parts of Sandton. 2) The laid back nature of the staff could be miscontrued as them not really caring whether you have an OK stay or a great stay. I have come across this in all the hotels in Sandton so maybe it's just a cultural thing that I have to learn to live with.

Overall a really excellent hotel which allows you to truly relax after a hard day keeping out of trouble in Joburg.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tree888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

This is our third stay at this hotel and I must say it was excellent. We were an extended family with interleading rooms, The staff are very friendly and so helpful. The rooms a very spacious and well furnished. Breakfasts were a treat in the outside eating area next to the pool, weather permitting. The location is excellent and very central. We would certainly return on our next visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews