We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
205
154
43
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
154
43
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern sunkelsey's restauranthome away from homeatholl squaremini kitchena nice place to staybreakfast and dinneran excellent hotelshuttle servicesandton citymain buildingtsogo sunthe hotel staffsouth africahotel roombusiness tripfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 422 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Plus points: big rooms, fantastic shower, friendly staff, pretty gardens
Minus points: taxi needed to go anywhere (50R to Sandton Sq), bar shuts very early (10:30pm)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotlight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I have had some difficulty finding a hotel I really enjoy staying at in Sandton but on my 4th trip I struck lucky. The Southern Sun Katherine Street is reminiscent of a resort hotel with it's low rise construction and bar and restaurant around a small pool and set in pretty gardens.

It has quickly become an oasis away from the slightly edgy atmosphere in Joburg. I much prefer this to the hotels, such as the Michaelangelo around Nelson Mandela Square. The rooms are large, in particular the rooms away from the main building with large bathroom, very good shower, mini-kitchen and king size bed.

Breakfast is very good with buffet + cooked breakfast ordered separately. The fruit is excellent and juice freshly squeezed. The hotel restaurant is definitely worth dining in with a good selection of steaks and seafood. Opposite the hotel is Atholl Square Shopping Centre within which is the Grill House, a top class steak house.

Now the downsides: 1)Whilst it is great to be away from it all it means that almost everything is a taxi fare away. The hotel has a good supply of cars and drivers but you will always pay at least R50 to get to other parts of Sandton. 2) The laid back nature of the staff could be miscontrued as them not really caring whether you have an OK stay or a great stay. I have come across this in all the hotels in Sandton so maybe it's just a cultural thing that I have to learn to live with.

Overall a really excellent hotel which allows you to truly relax after a hard day keeping out of trouble in Joburg.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tree888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

This is our third stay at this hotel and I must say it was excellent. We were an extended family with interleading rooms, The staff are very friendly and so helpful. The rooms a very spacious and well furnished. Breakfasts were a treat in the outside eating area next to the pool, weather permitting. The location is excellent and very central. We would certainly return on our next visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Centrally located just 5 min drive from Sandtons main shopping area, this hotel was a great find. The staff were wonderful and accommodating, the breakfasts were fabulous and the rooms were large, spacious and well equipped, not to mention spotlessly clean. Best shower I have had in a hotel in a long time, apart from when there was no hot water from the load shedding of electricity, but that's not the hotels fault. The owners of the restaurant were so great and they made sure that we had a high chair every day for our baby. The management also responded very quickly to requests for porters and amenities. The rooms are like little villas with a motel type structure and they have a lovely leafy outlook. They also have two levels so for those who find it hard to get to up the stairs there are rooms on the ground floor. Plenty of parking if you have a vehicle. The pool area is also very serene and beautifully landscaped. You can have breakfast on the patio by the pool. From a safety perspective we felt OK, but I think once they have finished building the gate house, it will be even better. They also stored our luggage when we went on other trips and we got that back all safely and in a prompt manner. I will stay there again when we go back to JHB. Well done to the management and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ginxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

The staff at the Southern Sun in Katherine Street were fantastic! They could not do enough for us and fulfilled our every wish and need. The hotel is in a great location and is centrally located to all destinations. The rooms are comfortable, clean and home like which made our stay there and easy and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kelzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews