We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay at Katherine street . Staff always friendly and helpfull and very professional and tidy in their uniforms.Rooms comfortable and very clean.Special thanx to Nelson and the shuttle service, always just a phone call away.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anjs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Anjs,

Thank you so much for your lovely review about our Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be performing at the high level we aim to provide to our valued guests.

We sure hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    119
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
38
33
18
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Despite the construction that is happening along the road in front of the hotel, the service is still of very high quality and the property is in close proximity to certain places of interest and business complexes. The hotel is strategically placed in Katherine street. It definitely gives value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Matlhogonolo827 M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Matlhogonolo827M,

Thank you for your lovely review on our Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also looking forward to the council completing the expansion of the entire Katherine Street but understand that they need to do this in order to create a designated bus lane.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Rooms are very clean.. Hotel stuff are very kind and very good services
I would highly recommend to try and stay at this hotel during your visit to Sandton..you won't worry for anything there... Excellent hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Wassim_Adra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Wassim Adra,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Southern Sun Katherine Street in Sandton.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff saw to your every need.

We sure look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The staff are very courteous. The rooms are not luxurious but are very clean. The shuttle service is also an added bonus if you require transport. The driver, Nelson, is excellent. He is so polite, drives really well and certainly is an asset to this hotel. He is a true gentleman. Breakfast provided a good variety of options to enjoy. The location is also good as there is a nice selection of restaurants and a supermarket across the road at a shopping mall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank TraceyPutzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Tracey,

Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel.

I am delighted to inform you that we will be refurbishing the rooms that you stayed in this year to give it more of a luxurious feel. We have already compled the suites and if you stay again, we will gladly upgrade you to one of those for free so that you can expererience them.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I wish that your bed cleaners could do the proper bed change when they change the linen so people dont get all this bad expirience that i went through because your hotel is one of the best.Otherwise you have a good reception that is so warm

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Martha R,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to see you enjoy all the property has to offer. On your next stay please make contact with the Executive Housekeeper so we know exactly how you would like your bed made.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have always loved Katherine Street for the provacy it affords me. One can actually go in and out without being seen by anyone except the security guard. The units are also independent and big enough for one to be able to make a long stay without feeling trapped or suffocated.

The environment, although in the busy Sandton, makes it easy to forget that you are actually in town because you do not see anything of the outside world.

This is my preferred stay when in Johannesburg

Room Tip: Always request to stay in the outer independent units, NOT in the main building. Your privacy will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tebogo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Tebogo,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the privacy of our outside units and that you experienced the tranquility of the hotel whilst in Sandton.

We sure look forward to welcoming you back soon.

regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I enjoy staying at this hotel as it is very easily accessible from all major roads especially if you do not stay in this province or your knowledge of Johannesburg and Sandton is limited. It is small enough to be cosy and intimate without the feel of bigger hotels where you are lost in the crowd and just become a number. The service is personal and the rooms offer the warmth of a classical style yet with all the modern facilities. I recommend the suites and units that offer a degree of self catering ability. This is one of the few hotels that offer you a stand alone shower and bath as opposed to those clumsy arrangements where your shower is in your bath and you have to use a horrible shower curtain that leaves your bath drenched in water. I was here for business and enjoyed my stay and this is one of my hotels of choice in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lubabalo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Lubabalo M,

Thank you so much for the lovely review you posted on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear that the intimate ambiance that we aim to provide, appealed to you and made your business trip so comfortable.

We sure hope to be welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.9 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Property: Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing