We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel once or twice a month for the past 14 years, and they've exceeded expectations 95% of the time.
The hotel has comfortable and well-appointed suites outside of the main hotel, equipped with a little kitchenette corner, including fridge, microwave, plates, glasses, cutlery, toaster, kettle and sink - perfect for those longer stays when you want something more homemade from the Woolies across the road. And you can park right outside your room! Do try the breakfast though, the chef, Rob Brown, gets lots of satisfaction from feeding you satisfying meals.
Tip - make sure you ask for a room that gets wifi.
The hotel has recently had a soft refurb, so everything feels nice and new, and has just added a small gym.
Make some time to enjoy the pool area for cocktails after work, the gardens are extensive and well- kept.

Room Tip: Outside, ask for good wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fagmeedah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Fagmeedah,

Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel.

I am delighted to see that you enjoy your stays with us and as always invite you to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stays more enjoyable.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    110
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
30
18
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

It charms you with the low rise residential flat type rooms with private gardens and a nice cosy lobby that looks like someone's house. However, a private house isn't a business hotel. No luggage rack, no ironing board, no umbrella, broadband capped, limited drinking water, no common master light switch et al, kills the experience. Plus no overhead lights above the bed for reading. Or even a clock. Add poor maintenance to the mix. Both my bed lamps did not work. And they did not bother to replace torn bathroom slippers for 5 days. The saving grace...good food and complimentary shuttle service to and fro nearby landmarks like Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton Gautrain airport link station or offices.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Subrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Subrus,

Thank you for your review.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Iron boards, umbrellas, extra drinking water and replacement of bathroom slippers are all done on request.
We do not place these items in the room as a standard as not all guests require an ironing board or umbrella.

On your next stay please feel free to let us know what you require to make your stay more comfortable and we will have this placed in your room.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel more than 5 times over the past few years. Always found the staff friendly, food great and the hotel clean. Sandton Square, the metro from the airport and the convention centre are all less than 5 minutes walk. Rooms are a bit small but well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Jamal I

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you have on several occasions over the past 5 years enjoyed your stay with us.

Upon your next stay, ask to be upgrqaded to one of the outside rooms. These rooms have a seperate lounge/ dining area and a balcony to walk out onto. This is certainly the best room for a stay of longer than 2 days.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have been a regular guest over the past 5 years and I am consistently pleased with the rooms inside the hotel and the garden units. The most appealing aspect for me is the ability to open a window and look out onto the gardens.

The staff are friendly and willing to serve. My disappointment won't affect many travellers, and that is the quality of the laundry service. There is no pride in, nor knowledge of, how to iron and present clothes in a first-class way. I stay in hotels around the world, and this place is comparative in most ways except for this. As a businessman I need to have a reliable laundry service, and this weakness could force me reluctantly elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the pool / bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Jeremy F,

Thank you for your lovely review and comments about your stay at Southern Sun Katherine Street.

I am delighted to hear that you have been back over the past 5 years and that you enjoy your stay every time. We have looked into your comments regaring the laundry service and are doing training wiht our staff to enable us to do this in house and not have to send this out anymore.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

SouthernSun is a nice hotel in main Sandton area for a business stay. Hotel has an excellent staff which is very helpful
Amenities and services are of highest quality. Rooms are large and spacious and yes the gym is also a good one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VIG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear VIG001,

Thank you for your lovely review on tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you find our larger rooms so much more comfortable.

We sure hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

For someone who looks for calmness and good and friendly atmosphere this is the hotel to be.
The staff is very friendly and assisting whenever needed. The hotel fitness room could be better for a hotel of this quality.

Rooms are spacious and good entertained and maintained.

Room Tip: suites are mostly quiet and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Ralph,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the quiet and tranquility of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I cannot fault this hotel. After not visiting for nearly 12 months the front of house staff remembered my face and name - outstanding! (even though I had not misbehaved the last time :) ). From the welcome by the staff ... to the room being fresh and stocked with current magazines ... to the driver who transported me to and from Sandton City. They all made me feel like much more than just a guest. I will definitely recommend and return to this "more than a" hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricanFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear AfricanFish,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that the staff exceeded your expectations.

We sure hope to see you sooner than 12 months this time!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.2 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 49 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Property: Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, South African Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing