We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel feels more like a home. As a president member of southern sun frequent guest, I got upgraded to presidential room every time. The service is average and the breakfast is not so great compared to other southern sun hotels.

The parking is free and I will prefer this hotel if I have a long stay in Johannesburg

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanjitKodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine080, Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Ranjit Kodali

Thank you for your wonderfull review of our property, we are delighted that you enjoyed the suites. I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of renovating these suites, and we have already completed two blocks. This project will be completed in February next year, but please feel free to request one of these during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Yolande Coetzer
Assistant General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 336 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Southern Sun Katherine Street is centrally located in Sandton and close to Gautrain, Sandton City, links to freeways etc

Staff are always helpful and accommodating. One of the best restaurants in JHB is on site - Kelsey's which is perfect if you are traveling alone to stay in the hotel and have high quality food and wine. Athol Square is directly opposite the hotel and home to The Grill Room - one of the best steak restaurants in JHB

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank GlobalTraveller829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine080, Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Pascal C

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Trip advisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are please to announce that we are in the process of refurbishing our rooms, which includes an update on all furniture and fittings.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Yolande Coetzer
Assistant General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good Southern Sun franchise. While the room I stayed in would be well served with a bit of updating, the hotel makes up its motel-like set-up (car parks under and in front of the rooms) with an extremely friendly and professional service and an excellent location. A free shuttle service is available to and from Nelson Mandela Square at Sandton City shopping mall, which in any case is only a few hundred meters away. Conferencing facilities were adequate and the restaurant lived up to Southern Sun standard, both for breakfast and dinner. If you want to combine work and shopping in Johannesburg, this is certainly a good address for a reasonable price.
The rooms are well appointed and the TV's show a large DsTV selection, including all sports channels.
While smoking rooms remain available, the restaurant (of course and rightly so) and even the outside terrace are smoke free zones. Being aware that we are now even in Africa following more and more intolerant non-smoking policies, outside areas should in my view at least partially be kept smoker friendly. This hotel bans smokers to the pool or to some forelorn garden table in the scorching sun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Pascal,


Thank you very much for your lovely review. You will be delighted to hear that we are in the process of refurbishing all the outside rooms with new carpets, curtains, furniture, Flat screen TV's and new airconditioners. We have finished our first block already and hope that on your next stay you will stay in one of these new luxurious rooms.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A colleague and I stayed at this hotel on a business trip that required us to commute to the Expo Centre just outside Johannesburg. We decided to stay in Sandton as we would be close to other activities and the Southern Sun in Katherine street was perfect. It offered us an excellent quality hotel with plenty of space in the rooms, all the amenities we needed and an incredible restaurant to eat at.
I want to add at this stage that the staff in the hotel were extremely obliging and assisted us with everything we needed including an "on demand" shuttle up into he CBD area of Sandton
As a business based hotel, this was perfect and we will definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mosiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Mosiman,

Thank you for your wonderfull review of our property. We are delighted to inform you that we have completed the first block of our refurbishment where we are re doing everyhing in the outside rooms. We also extended ground floor suite's patios with a pation table and two chairs so that smokers can sit outside.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is situated opposite the USA consulate and Sandton City Mall. Rooms are small but well maintained. The east wing rooms have the best view, facing the mall as well as the consulate (The Rivonia wing). Room decorations are well thought out. There is no wifi connection in rooms. Wifi is available in the reception foyer. Also available in the foyer is an Internet cafe. The restatuarant and bar are adjacent to the foyer. There serves a wide variety of foods for their buffet breakfast . The underground parking is well secured. Security around the hotel is very tight and access control is very strict. The mall can be access via the garden using your room access key.

Room Tip: The Rivonia wing has the best view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KwameMokopane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine080, Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear KwameMokopane

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experiences whilst staying at a Southern Sun Hotel. I have forwarded your compliments onto Garden Court Sandton, as this is the hotel you were staying at.

We do hope that when you are in Johannesburg again, you will take us up on our special rates (as advertised on Trip Advisor) and come and experience our new refurbished suites.

Warm regards
Yolande Coetzer
Assistant General Manager
yolande.coetzer@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel foyer has been tastefully re-decorated and the staff at the front desk are really great for the hotel. The breakfast had enough variety. The rooms (suites) outside never disappoint, I am a returning visitor to this establishment and have been very impressed with the changes and attention. It seems to be a popular weekend hang out spot for families coming from the Free State, Limpopo and Mpumalanga Provinces of South Africa. Even though its a busy hotel, you do not feel neglected. The housekeepers can be hectic, they come in all the time to check that everything is okay, bringing fresh towel et-al, just put a DND sign if you don't need the attention. The place has a really relaxing atmosphere to it, and they don't mind if you ask for a late-check out on a Sunday!!

Room Tip: Ask for the suites outside the main hotel, you will feel unattached but connected, somehow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Liyabee,

Thank you for the lovely comments on our hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing all the outside suites with all new carpets, curtains, flat screen TV's and new air conditioners. We have also extended some of the patio's slightlty and added two patio chairs and a table so you can sit in the lovely gardens.

We also opened our new Gym on monday the 17th of September, so we are very excited about our product offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was there on a business trip in August 2012. The hotel is located in Sandton in Johannesburg. The hotel facilities are great and the staff was pleasant. The service was a bit slow in the restaurant. Rooms offer all confort expected by business travellers, but Internet access is not included in the price and the speed was low. Good location also to get out in the evening and the hotel security was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine080, Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Phillipe

Thank you for the lovely comments on our hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing all the outside suites with all new carpets, curtains, flat screen TV's and new air conditioners. We have also extended some of the patio's slightlty and added two patio chairs and a table so you can sit in the lovely gardens.

We also opened our new Gym on monday the 17th of September, so we are very excited about this new facility.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Yolande Coetzer
Assistant General Manager
yolande.coetzer@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.9 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.8 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $121 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing