We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Been staying here for more than 10 years and always come back due to the location, atmosphere and on-site restaurant. Centrally located with M1 access and the Sandton business district within 5 minutes by car. For greater flexibility a rental car is recommended to get to the shopping area. Kelseys restaurant, adjoining the hotel, provides an excellent breakfast and offers a great selection of delicious dinners with special attention being provided by the owners Rob and Trish.

Best rooms are the outside wings in blocks B, D and E.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the outside wings in blocks B, D and E.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    121
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
38
33
18
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The staff members, from the chauffeur to the restaurant manager, are friendly and exude genuine warmth. The location is very convenient: a mere few minutes from Mandela Square and the Gautrain station (Sandton). The rooms are comfortable and clean. But this isn't a hotel for business travelers. There is no urgency at the front desk to attend to guests. Wifi is unreliable and expensive. Breakfast is a little bit on the mean side. The wall-mounted air conditioning unit was noisy and cooled the room unevenly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singhy_the_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

I am using regularly hotels for business and leisure but i have to say that it was a long time i did not have such bad experience.
First, nobody picked me up at the airport even if i booked a car with the hotel few days earlier. When i called the hotel, nobody could help me and proposed to call me back but nothing happened. When i complained during the check-in, i was simply ignored, without a simple excuse.
The room was ok but the hotel has a motel configuration, meaning that you have to walk outside on the parking to reach your room, not very pleasant before the breakfast or when it is raining.
The room was cold. There was a noisy heating system that must be switched off if you want to have a silent night. The bathroom is freezing with another noisy automatic fan pushing cold air from outside.
During check-out, i have been charged 200zar for 3 days of internet even if i have been told during the check-in that it will free. I have booked a car with the hotel to go to the airport but the only thing they do is ordering a cab.
At least but not last, i came back with plenty of red spots. I do not know yet what it is but in light of my activities that week, i suspect unclean bedsheets.
Only 2 positive points: the nice and available driver Nelson who will drop and pick you wheverer you want in the area. The restaurant was also nice.
Overall, i will never try thishotel again. can't afford such bad service.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Benoit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I am one of those people who commute to JHB from Cape Town on a weekly basis... have been doing so for a full year now! If it weren't for the Southern Sun Katherine Street hotel, I would be even more stressed out... if that's possible! They are truly my home away from home... another family, who really do everything they can to look after me! Every week when I arrive on a Mon, I am welcomed by the friendly front office staff. When I arrive in my 'regular' room, I am surprised with a little gift and personalised note and all my goodies that I have leftover in storage from the week before is back in my hotel room as I had left it. The restaurant management, chefs and staff are always friendly and looking after my diet, ensuring that I have a packed breakfast or lunch if I am unable to join them for breakfast. They also make a special effort to make me food that is not on their regular menu. My room is always clean and the security here is top-notch.
Due to life being so convenient here at the Southern Sun on Katherine Street, I have decided to remain a regular customer instead of organising my own accommodation. This has truly become my home away from home. Thank you to Yolande, Wilma and team at Katherine Street!!!
Thanks a mill, Kelly!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My experience at the Southern Sun was Brilliant!!!! Above and beyond any expectation!! It was clean safe friendly and the food was fabulous!!! They have the best team and management I have ever experienced.. The only place to stay is The Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton.You will have the time of your life!!!! Simply the best experience I have ever had in all my travels. Hope to return in the future!!! The menu was great the wine list was terrific and the service was top of the line. The room was cool clean and pretty!! We were treated like royalty it was hard to come home!!! Thank you to everyone who made this trip a dream come true!!!

Room Tip: All rooms looked amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This was the first stop on a South African tour, and what a great start. The hotel stands out like an oasis in the motley suburbs of Johannesburg.

The rooms were clean, tidy, well furnished and well serviced and the small gardens were beautifully presented.

The most outstanding feature of all was the restaurant. The owner, Rob, took the time to make everyone feel as though they were visiting his home. The rest of the staff were equally welcoming. And the food did not let them down. From a lunchtime "sandwich" which would feed a small family to the full a la carte dinner, nothing was too much trouble. And it was by far the best food we found in any of the 4 star hotels we stayed in in South Africa.

The overall location may not be great, but if you are staying in this region, this hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HubbleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The food in this hotel was excellent, worthy of a 5 star hotel. Rob, the Owner's attendance to detail was exceptional. We were made to feel like VIP's by him and the restaurant staff. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in 40 years of staying in hotels. The reception staff were also very friendly and attentative and courtesy buses, late check outs etc were no issue to them at all.

Pool needed a bit of attention as a tad dirty. Air conditioning struggled a little bit but in fairness it was 30c+ outside. Otherwise I would have given 5 stars to this hotel with no hesitation. These were however minor irritants which were amply compensated for by all the excellent service & food.

Thanks you for a lovely stay. I would defintiedly stay again.

Room Tip: The garden rooms looked very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Property: Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing