We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, but slow service”
Review of Bukhara Sandton

Bukhara Sandton
Ranked #25 of 211 Restaurants in Sandton
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but slow service”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I went here as part of a group. It took nearly an hour from our arrival for any food to arrive despite having pre-ordered everything. But the food was fantastic, starting with a great selection of tandoori cooked meats, cheeses and vegetables, and then to a variety of Indian curries and other dishes. One of the better Indian restaurants that I have been to anywhere in the world, including London, NYC and Toronto. As long as you're not in a rush, I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OJS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    130
    51
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
st helier
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“best indian food i have tasted”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

As a seasoned traveller, i have eaten in many good establishments and if you like indian food this is one of the best. fantastic curries and naan bread to die for. prices are very reasonable as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank grimj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went to the restaurant for my daugher's birthday. Waitress was clueless - some things were not available that night but she did not know. When the food arrived after an hour there were things missing but charged for.

Management were apologetic but not great.

Based on this I will not be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Some Style no Substance - Sandton Mediocrity”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Having a good meal in Sandton has become very difficult. Restaurants have become sort of tourist traps serving very average quality food -- chain style with bells and whistles in the ambiance not the kitchen. I went to Bukhara with the expectation of finding something better. I did not. Food was very very average--some of it bad.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank iqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Maharaja Style”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Food and hospitality are excellent. Wide varieties of Indian food is available. Choice is very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank peddiravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bukhara Sandton also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Bukhara Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing