We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Function 2013”
Review of Chaplin's Grill

Chaplin's Grill
Ranked #12 of 223 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Function 2013”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a company function at Chaplin's. The service was excellent and the food was divine. The staff and Rainold made sure that everything was to our liking. Everybody enjoyed themselves with some saying that it was the best company function to date.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trienkies M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    38
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“40th Birthday Function”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We celebrated my wife's 40th birthday function with absolute joy! Rainold was an exceptional host, his staff attended to our every need with utmost professionalism & expertise. We were spoilt for choice of meals of the best quality. what a treat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dereck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere inside, which you don't expect from the outside building.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Good wine selection, with options to have some older more expensive wines. Great food and excellent service. Great choice with getit24. Definitely will come again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Team lunch”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Thank you very much for hosting us on such a short notice.

We enjoyed the ambience and the food. The service was excellent.

The only issue i have was the speed the food was brought out. Some of the team members complained about the fact that they were not given enough time to digest the meals as they were brought one after the other.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesedi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Company Function”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently organised a company function at Chaplin's.
The food and service were outstanding - every one of my colleagues enjoyed their meals and all complimented the staff of their friendly and professional manner.
I did not think it was possible to make everyone happy but Rainold and the team certainly did!
We ate from a set menu but Rainold was very willing to amend certain items on the menu and add a dish without charging us more! What incredibel service!
I will certainly be back for another meal and will be recommending Chaplin's to everyone.
Thanks

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaplin's Grill also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Chaplin's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing