We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #5 of 211 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Dinner delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Food was great, service was a little off with more staff than required.
Great view and decorations in restaurant. just need the waiters to be a little more on the ball.
Not cheap but fairly priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perthguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear perthguy6

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your meal, our Chefs work hard to maintain our standards, my apologies the service did not live up to your expectations, your comments and concerns have been noted and they will be investigated.

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Jeff Lopes

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    88
    38
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The view over Nelson Mandela Square is beautiful this time of year. Their service beats that of the Oyster Box and The Palace of the Lost City. The food was Master Chef quality.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Carmen W

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review on Trip Advisor.

I could not agree more, the square really does look amazing at the moment, my staff and I could not be more proud and motivated with your positive service comment, thank you very much we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience here with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Jeff Lopes

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton,South Africa
Level Contributor
204 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a shame....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have frequented this restaurant for years, but never again! Arrived 4.30 pm asked where the high tea buffet had disappeared to and was told it is now plated during the week. All good and well, until we were refused service at 4.35 because "high tea is only served until 4.30." (It took a while for the waiter to come and take our order, as usual). The arrogant food and beverage manager couldn't have cared less. What a shame. It is noted that other Trip Advisers also complain about bad service. Will they EVER take notice???

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Gilda 18

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We value all feedback and respond to each and every review individually.

Our High Tea offering is available as follows:
Weekdays , served from 14h30 to 16h30 plated in our lounge.
Saturdays and Sundays we serve a buffet Lindt Chocolate High Tea also from 14h30 to 16h30. Bookings are essential for both

Our weekday high tea is carefully prepared by our Chef per reservation and therefore a certain amount of preparation time is necessary.

We regret that the experience was not to your satisfaction and your comments regarding our staff have been noted and corrective action taken.

We would welcome the opportunity to better serve you and in so doing giving you and your guests the true Michelangelo experience.

Kind Regards

Jeff Lopes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NYE 2014 Moulin Rouge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were treated to an evening of entertainment coupled with dinner and dancing in a Moulin Rouge themed ballroom. The menu was quite sophisticated and some items were an acquired taste. The service left a lot to be desired, with waiters muddling courses being the order of the evening. But nonetheless, we had a great night out, and a memorable dress up new year's eve party. The tables were laid with fine trappings including masks and other elaborate adornments.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear World28

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, it’s only through valuable feedback that we can improve.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your New Year’s Eve party and that you choose The Michelangelo Hotel, the Moulin Rouge theme was a great success this year.

Your menu comments have been passed onto our Executive Chef and he will address this for next year.

Your comments regarding the service on the night have been investigated and corrective action has been taken with all concerned.

Kind Regards

Jeff Lopes

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was great restaurant. Luxury and great foods with listening to piano , Jobergs most beaitufull area is Sandton located. I exremely advised to go and having dinner with piano. Decpratıons and staffs soo great. Thnaksssss aloot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Fatma O

Thank you very much for your positive review on Trip Advisor, we are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us.

Our location overlooking the Nelson Mandela Square is ideal and in the heart of Sandton.

Our service team is very motivated by such positive reviews so thanks, again we really look forward to welcoming you back.

Happy travels

Jeff Lopes

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing