We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laborie Gourmet Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #6 of 208 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Laborie Gourmet Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Once again Piccolo Mondo exceeded my expectations. The cuisine and wine pairing at the Laborie Gourmet Dinner was a perfect match. Looking forward to future events!

Lynette

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Lynette B

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor we truely value your feedback!

We put a lot of time and effort into planning our gourmet evenings, so im really happy to hear this positive feedback, we have many more great estates we are hosting this year, so I look forward to welcoming you back to Piccolo Mondo! Thanks for your support!

Kind regards

Jeff Lopes

Restaurant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    87
    38
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
176 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lindt high tea, well priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent high tea, with loads to choose from at a surprisingly modest price. Very lavish setting with equally grand service, and pianist adding to a relaxing ambience. Cigar room, and large bar area. Our waiter, Sabelo, was experienced and offered spectacular service with a smile. Stunning views of the Nelson Mandela Square. Personalized greeting card on table was a pleasant surprize. Great selection of fruit, croissants, sandwiches and mini-wraps. The dessert selection is unparalleled, with literally too much to choose from. Another splendid touch is the Lindt chocolate fountain with strawberries and marshmallows on sticks. Wide offering of hot beverages included, such as teas, lattes, coffee, hot chocolate, etc. Definitely recommended, especially at such a modest price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JacquesMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear JacquesMonica

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor, we truely value your feedback, and thank you for personally mentioning a member of our team, your comments are really motivating!

We are really glad that you enjoyed the selection of food and beverages that we offer, and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another afternoon will us sometime in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Jeff Lopes

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this restaurant considering the dismal service I got from the hotel. Food was excellent, service was excellent. Definitely a place I would recommend.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley_Nathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Beverly_Nathan

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your experience at Piccolo Mondo, your positive feedback is very encouraging to our team here at Piccolo Mondo.

Im sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations in the hotel, please dont hesitate to send me your contact details and I will ensure that our guest relations manager contacts you to discuss this matter further.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Piccolo Mondo in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Jeff Lopes

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rather empty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

For a Saturday lunchtime over Easter week-end it was incredibly quiet. For a five star hotel the waiters were charmingly incompetent and our initial waiter even went on a break during our meal. We arrived at 12:50.
Having said all this the food was good. My pear and gorgonzola salad had a little too much balsamic but my rack of lamb was done exactly as I asked. My wife had a nice and fresh piece of grilled sea bass and the signature dessert is pretty spectacular. Probably worth a visit if you happen to be in Sandton square but I wouldn't make a special trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 684NigelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Nigel W

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Your points have been noted and will be addressed accordingly. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Piccolo Mondo for the service and experience we pride ourselves on delivering.

Kind regards

Jeff Lopes

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dinner - its a must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently reserved my parents a table for the 'Gourmet Dinner' at Piccolo Mondo on Friday evening, as a gift. Their views were as follows:

+ Food was well presented and prepared beautifully
+ Fantastic Service, always on point and very attentive
+ (from my point of view, dealing with Ellen was a pleasure and she made the booking process very easy)
+/- Price was fair to high

- Lack of background music, being a hotel there should at least be a band/ piano player playing in the background.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NemZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear NemZa

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am really glad that you enjoyed the food and service for your recent gourmet dinner experience at Piccolo Mondo, the points you have raised have been noted and we will look at implementing them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Piccolo Mondo.

Kind regards

Jeff Lopes

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing