We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.”

Pappas on the Square
Ranked #2 of 225 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For more than two decades, Pappas has been dishing out Mediterranean taste sensations and memorable dining experiences. Pappas has been in the family since the 80s and is now run by the second generation of restaurateurs.We are conveniently situated in the heart of Sandton on Nelson Mandela Square, a hop, skip and jump away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Our extensive menu consists of delicious Mediterranean fare combined with traditional Greek tastes and flavours that will take you on a culinary journey fit for royalty. All our meals are homemade daily to ensure the freshness and quality you deserve and expect. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests to Pappas so you may enjoy every generosity our restaurant and experienced staff have to offer.
Lodi, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great food. Great atmosphere. Service was OK. Prices are decent. Location was great because restaurant was part of the square.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    206
    54
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious food and very good quantity/quality”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

As part of a group, we had lunch one day at this lovely restaurant with so nice view at Mandela Square. The staff was friendly, the food was more than delicious and tasteful, we had nice Greek salad as a starter, very good calamari with rice & french fries accompanied by salad and as a dessert baklava with vanilla ice cream! What was amazing is the big quantity of each course that was also of very good quality. We really enjoyed this lunch and we recommend this restaurant for leisure & business lunch/dinner when you are in Johannesburg!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DANOS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

the view and the food along with an awesome new wine list makes Pappas on the square awesome. We were lucky enough to "sample" the enormous Christmas lunch offerings (I had the slow roasted pork). Cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Rushed”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We were served drinks and bread quite quickly here but then waited 20 minutes before our food order was taken. Our waiter then approached us and said the kitchen was closing and we needed to order immediately . We ordered and our starters were delivered promptly. Unfortunately our waiter tried to serve our main courses while we were still eating our starters. We explained we were still eating but he said the food was ready. Again we said we were still eating. He then literally hovered over us and as we finished our last bites, removed our food. Almost seconds went by before our mains were served.
When the bill arrived we asked for change. Our waiter said there was no change available. We decided not to tip. He then came back and said that service was not included. We said because there was no change we were not tipping. Surprise surprise change became available.
Overall the service was rushed. The food was adequate. The atmosphere ok.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great lunch venue with good view of the square”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a nice "girl's day out" and enjoyed a good view, MCC and some good food at Pappas. We opted for options from the lighter menu and the salads. The portion were still big and the plates well presented.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inge d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappas on the Square also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Pappas on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing