We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bo Bice”
Review of Luce Restaurant

Luce Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 225 Restaurants in Sandton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bo Bice”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great view, great service. Deep fried calamari and prawns to start, simply delicious. The main course menu had a full page for Italian food and then another page for everything else. So I’m not sure if it’s an Italian restaurant or not, so for main i had spaghetti bolognaise, always a sure fire way of judging whether an Italian restaurant is good or not. I wasn’t disappointed, a very very tasty dish. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Rich and tasteful atmoshpere, servings and views”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

BiCE is truly in a class of its own. gorgeous ambiance. delightful and ever willing diligent waitrons - always service with a smile ( effective and efficient) . management crew very hands on . awesome chef - as he prepared a green tea infused icecream garnished with crush red beans - we just wanted to experiment on taste but was superbly impressed - definite wow!the sommelier - was excellent .the food from starters to dessert was delicious - the food is priced on the higher end of the scale and it depends what is ordered - the portions are a good size . seems booking/reservations are essential - we stayed at the hotel and was advised to book each day and we glad that we did. lovely fine dining to enjoy on special occasions. Staff who are exceptional: Diego( the manager), and the waitrons( Mandy, Sinethemba and Mthandazo)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gujidaughterinlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Totally overrated”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with this meal experience. The food is really not good and all very expensive. I was embarrassed with the way the manager handled the situation and so we left and will not return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, england
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“good food to complement the great views”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

with one exception, our party of four declared their mains and desert to be both well presented and delicious. our choices spread from the daily specials at this italian-oriented restaurant within the southern sun hotel at hyde park to fish and a particularly impressive tagliolini mare. views across the city from the picture windows were great - even better we were told when there is a good sunset (100% cloud cover meant we could not check that out). service was confident, there when required but not obtrusive. the desserts of hot chocolate soufle (very chocolaty) and house special apple pie were well worth the 15 minute wait while they were prepared from fresh. but the recommended deep fried ice cream - the most expensive - was a boring disappointment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank famwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing service”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant a few times on a variety of trips to Johannesburg and my husband is a frequent visitor to the restaurant as he stays in the hotel often and we both feel the same way. The food whether it is Italian or Sushi is utterly amazing. The ambience is sophisticated, the service is always prompt and fantastic and the food completely delicious. The advice on the wine pairings are always completely correct and we have had the pleasure of tasting wine that we would not ordinarily order but have been pleasantly surprised at the subtleties. The waiters and management are always friendly, attentive and helpful. It is no wonder that this restaurant is full most of the time and not only with hotel guests. Many Sandtonites frequent this popular restaurant. Being able to have a drink at the lovely bar before hand is also a bonus.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LTWells101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luce Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Dunkeld West, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Greater Johannesburg, Gauteng
 

Been to Luce Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing