We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic restaurant in Sandton - a must visit when in Johannesburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Signature

Signature
Ranked #6 of 211 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant in Sandton - a must visit when in Johannesburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staying just down the road from this "shopping centre" in Sandton/Johannesburg for business over the past two weeks, I ended up driving by this place at least twice a day. Most North Americans wouldn't expect to find a 5 star fine dining restaurant with live music in a shopping centre...but don't look past this place when in Sandton. I have eaten at a few other high end places in Sandton and this one is by far the best for atmosphere, food and of course value given the Dollar and Sterling against the Rand.

The service was very attentive, but like most places in Africa you simply have to lower your expectations just a bit. Overall though the service was the best so far here - compared to Butcher Shop and Picolo Mondo. The food is the highlight here. They have an overwhelmingly extensive menu, all of which sound succulent. My dinner companions had filet of beef, the pork belly and the prawn and saffron risotto amongst them. All of which were good choices. I had the calamari, which was copious. The highlight of everyone's meal was the "sumo fries" which were the potatoes served with the mains. Notable starters included the pumpkin soup and the chicken livers. We passed on dessert, but the menu looked good.

Everyone should try to make it here. The decor and live music added to the ambiance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robfromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    103
    32
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
218 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, music and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently visited this restaurant with a good friend. This was my third visit. It did help that my host for the evening was really a great person and friend. She recommended the place after her first visit coming from the US recently.
The food was great. The wine selection was superb. The music was subtle and understated which allowed for easy conversation. The service was great with the hosts being very attentive. Clean and fresh.
I do think that the carpets need to be cleaned as I left with some itchy bites and stuffy sinuses. It was worth all of that and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrantH490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
263 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The decor in the restaurant is very classy two out of the three meals ordered were outstanding - The sole was unfortunately overcooked but the fillet steak was outstanding. I found the service slow but very friendly. The live music added to the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The place to be seen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

A very upmarket restaurant with extensive winelist and many intriguing and creative dishes; usually frequented by corporates on business dinners as well as big brash celebratory celebratory parties.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Gold
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Simply put we all adore signature and time and time and time again they never disappoint. Birthday and outing with friends,this is just the best palce to eat and celebrate. HAd my birthday dinner there, and a suprise pregnancy celebration dinner for a friend, and numerous dinners. We just love Signature. Thank you for being our best eatery in Gauteng! the live music is always such a pleasure and of course Kaizer - thank you!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duchess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signature also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Signature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing