We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart location, not sure how it all gels” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Signature

Signature
Ranked #4 of 208 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Smart location, not sure how it all gels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Having seen this was stated as the no1 restaurant for Sandton ( not the most expensive but vote best by TA pundits). I felt obligated to try it out. The food was undoubtedly good the setting quite formal compared to a lot. The staff were attentive but they lack 'passion'. So although the food was good i did not feel at ease as I feel a restaurant of this type should be aiming to achieve. I had the oysters - delicious but not a lot they restaurant can do to wreck / improve these. Then I had the signature seafood platter (hot) and definitely a finger job not for the knife and fork.....

Although tasty I have had better and for less money. Finally I had the trio of crime brûlée all of which I found 'ordinary'. The wine on the other hand was exceptional and they did not try to over fill the glass - I left with over half a bottle to savour another few nights!.

Overall I am glad i have been, but given the choice will not be back in this one week trip. I prefer the food and ambience of the Terrance Restaurant -see other feedback.

Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    102
    32
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Truly a signature restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The decor is a little kitsch - they are trying a little hard to create a posh ambience and could definitely do without the tired looking carpeting. That said, the food taste, choice and presentation is simply fabulous. The wine selection is also par excellence. If you get a table by the far end windows and they open them to let in the setting sun, it completes the perfect picture of class dining.

I found the service a tad condescending though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SurajShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“smart and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would recommend this restaurant for a special night out, either for a couple or a company evening. The atmosphere is great with a nice view out and a piano and singer inside to entertain the guests. The service is awesome, so the food, however the portions are really small so that one needs a 3 course meal...comes out quite expensive in the end.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Milkyway85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant I've eaten in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

There is nothing I fault this restaurant with, I have been twice and both time was outstanding. The second time I took a friend who is a manageress of a restaurant and she was impressed with everything. The food was outstanding, the service excellant it was avery pleasant way to spend an evening, I can highly reccomend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
303 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wanted to avoud choosing using terrible but not far from”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Easy acces and large parking in this shopping mall. Signature res looks more like an hotel entrance with reception as you come in. Deco from outside on the one side a large wine cellar on the other side pictures from famous people . Seating is comfortable and service is average. Food a real disaster just thinking of the fish soup we received where the fish was cold and the soup was warm how is that possible when the fish is supposed to be coocked in the soup. Anyhow it was as good as tasteless and main course i rather forget ab it. Restaurants also has a nice bar. Restaurant is expensive so take an expensive bill with poor food you know my toughts ab this place ......

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signature also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Signature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing