We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gallo Manor Country Lodge
Ranked #16 of 78 Sandton B&B and Inns
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Gallo Manor Lodge from 9th to 13th August and could not fault anything. The room was very comfortable with lots of cupboard space and the meals were excellent.
Many thanks lynn for a wonderful stay - we will be back.
Keith and Sandy Lowe

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsap9072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
It is always a please to host our regular visitors to South Africa. We appreciate you sharing your Gallo Manor experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
21
7
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Galo Mannor very much.
The room itself was very comfortable, as was the huge bed.
Bathroom was nice with a shower that had a nice strong waterflow.
Just enough in the fridge (drinks, sweets etc).
Security was excellent, but it was also easy to get in and out of the house and the exterior gate.
I found it was easy to find the main road (M 1) (or is it N1?).
There is a nearby shoping centre with plenty of options for dinner and one can buy just about anything that a person might need.
The garden is beautiful as are the decorations in the lounge and diningroom.
The breakfast was very tasty and the service at breakfast was good.
I would have no hesitation in staying again and recomending Galo Manor to other people.

Reception was very friendly and quite charming; made me feel at home.
I did not use the fitness centre or Spa, as I was not aware of their existence. (Nor would I have had the time to do so)

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Gallo Manor experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for appreciating our facilities. We trust that we will see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I spent 5 nights at Gallo Manor lodge in April 2013. It is quiet and cozy and always feel at home. Everything is clean and enjoyable and the food is excellent as well. Gallo Manor is and was always my number one lodge to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your valued review. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiberg am Neckar, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed there in "Out of Africa" suite for 4 nights in May 2013, as my favorite B&B has been sold out. Gallo Manor is on the outskirts of Sandton, close to major highways, in a gated community. They boast 5 stars at the entrance. It is a nice house with beautiful garden and swimming pool, expensive furniture. My room was quite large, with a big corridor leading to the bathroom, that has both a shower and a large tub. They have a de Longhi coffee machine and a good (but not exceptional) breakfast. Some features, however, are definitely not 5 star:

- I arrived on a cold autumn day. The room felt like a fridge. After some problems, an ac hanging over the bed was switched to heating mode and heated up the room. The bathroom with the shower does not have any heating and remained a frosty experience for the whole stay.
- Wireless internet access is absolutely inadequate. Gallo Manor's brochure warns that "excessive use will be charged", but you do not have any chance to use it excessively, as it is incredibly slow. On three days, it was not possible to load emails with attachments.
- The water pipes are quite noisy. I had two occasions when neighbors were using their bathroom just before midnight which definitely interrupted my sleep. In addition, you hear people walking on top of this room, which also happened late at night.

The following points are not really big issues. Again, if you are expecting 5-star perfection, they are a bit astonishing:
- a parking and an entrance that requires considerable driving skills if your car is bigger than a compact
- rather dim lights in the bathroom (when shaving, I like to see what I am doing)
- three of the four wall closets closed and filled with private stuff.

Lynne isfriendly and competent. Breakfast starts at 6.30, which is very convenient if you have to be out early. Shopping center with some restaurants is quite close.

I am usually staying at Thatchfoord lodge, http://www.thatchfoordlodge.co.za/, same area, 4 stars, a bit less elegant if you are looking at the furniture, but with none of the shortcomings described above.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravelerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Constructive critisism is of great importance to the effective running of our business and we go to great lengths to address any questions that our guests may have. I am therefore rather surprised that the communication of these issues were not brought to our attention during your stay. I trust that your unfortunate experience will be a learning curve to all concerned and we apologies that we could not reach your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I spent two weeks in this nice and quiet place. Very cozy, clean and enjoyable. You feel welcome and at home. Very good quinine too! I highly recommend it both for business and leisure travels, family trips and celebrations!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimiterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
It is always a great joy for us when guests we can connect with such appreciation of our facilities and service..
We thank you for your comments and value your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We only stayed over for two separate nights due to awkward scheduling of our onward flights, but we could not have picked a better place to stay. Sandton is a very 'upmarket' suburb outside of the centre of Johannesburg, in a beautiful estate location. The whole place looks as though it has just been prepared, in pristine condition. The garden and swimming pool ares are lovingly maintained, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless.
As if this wasn't enough, the overwhelming friendliness of Lynne Taylor and her staff was the icing on the cake. Nothing was too much trouble, whether it was getting laundry done at short notice, or organising trips and taxis for us. One evening, the taxi firm were unable to take us into Nelson Mandela Square in Sandton at a suitable time, so Lynne took us in herself! Brilliant customer service!! Would highly recommend Gallo Manor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tstacey419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We appreciate your kind remarks and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Gallo Manor. We certainly enjoyed hosing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Gallo Manor Lodge is the best place to stay in the Sandton area. It is very clean, secure with very friendly staff and a beautiful surroundings. Lynne is very hospitable and went above and beyond to make sure we had an excellent vacation. I cannot thank her enough for her kindness, friendly staff and beautiful property.
Thanks Lynee!
Sam and Kelly

Room Tip: See if you can book a garden suite- all the rooms are great but this one was my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
It was such a pleasure hosing you and Sam during your trip around South Africa. Thank you for your valued review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.6 mi away
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 47 in Sandton
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 78 in Sandton
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bellgrove Guest House
Bellgrove Guest House
#12 of 78 in Sandton
65 reviews
3.7 mi away
Claires of Sandton
Claires of Sandton
#2 of 78 in Sandton
306 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hyde Park Villas
Hyde Park Villas
#3 of 78 in Sandton
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallo Manor Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallo Manor Country Lodge

Property: Gallo Manor Country Lodge
Address: 23 Canterbury Crescent | Gallo Manor, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gallo Manor Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Rivonia, Sunninghill and Woodmead, bordering the prestigious Johannesburg Country Club Golf Course. This popular Guesthouse boasts a secure, tranquil touch of luxury associated with a relaxed homely feel. We pride ourselves on superb excellence in service, and uphold high hospitality standards. Gallo Manor, a Guesthouse of distinction and style, awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gallo Manor Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallo Manor Country Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing