We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place to stay in Sandton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gallo Manor Country Lodge
Ranked #16 of 78 Sandton B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Gallo Manor Lodge is the best place to stay in the Sandton area. It is very clean, secure with very friendly staff and a beautiful surroundings. Lynne is very hospitable and went above and beyond to make sure we had an excellent vacation. I cannot thank her enough for her kindness, friendly staff and beautiful property.
Thanks Lynee!
Sam and Kelly

Room Tip: See if you can book a garden suite- all the rooms are great but this one was my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

It was such a pleasure hosing you and Sam during your trip around South Africa. Thank you for your valued review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 103 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed for longer. Gallo manor is a beautiful place to stay out of the hussle and hussle of everything. The room was delightful and luxurious. The back garden is an absolute oasis and is beautifully tended. The pool is just a perfect escape from the sun. Breakfast is yummy as well. Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

It was our pleasure to host you. We value your views and are very pleased that your experience at Gallo Manor was such a delight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. We were in the process of moving from Canada to South Africa and Gallo Manor Lodge was exactly what we needed. It offered a stunning property, helpful staff and amazing hosts to make us feel at home.

Lynne and her family were able to help us with everything we needed as we . They were never too busy for us and answered every question we had while offering us the advice we needed during our move.

Breakfast was great - many items to choose from, which meant we had something different every day.

We would recommend Gallo Manor without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbl_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you to South Africa and trust that you will enjoy your new home.
We appreciate your review and wish you well for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My friends and I were referred to Gallo Manor by another lodge. We were all so pleasantly surprised with the beauty of the place. It's a home away from home! We received such a warm welcome from Lynn. It's definitely a place to return to in future! Wonderful place! Rose

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank RoseT2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Gallo Manor experience. We value your review and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I along with our two adult sons spent the night of Christmas Eve at Gallo Manor Lodge. It was a terrific place to stay in every respect. The lodge was in an upscale, safe residential area that was easy to get to from the airport and well located. The rooms were up to date and spotless. The grounds were absolutely stunning with beautiful flowers, a fish pond and a wonderful pool. We thoroughly enjoyed having drinks out on the patio after our long journey from the United States and the breakfast we had the the next morning was delicious. The owners went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. When we arrived, they had already made a reservation for us at a great restaurant nearby for our Christmas Eve dinner. We stayed at a lot of nice places during our two week trip to South Africa, but this was hands down the best. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaysonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Gallo Manor experience with us. We welcome your reviews and are please that your experience of South Africa was so memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had an outstanding 13 nights stay at the Gallo Manor Lodge, with the accommodation, hospitality, food and service living up to the 5star rating. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and the lodge provided a much needed home from home feel for such a lengthy stay. Lynn, couldn't do enough for myself and my fellow travelling companions, organising transfers not only to and from the airport but also too and from the training centre and anywhere else we wished to explore. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby that offer excellent choice and quality at a very reasonable price, and Lynn is always on hand to offer suggestions/recommendations if asked. I would and already have recommended this place to my friends and collegues, and would definitely return here again myself.

Room Tip: The Cleopatra was an excellent room and perfect for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing your Gallo Manor experience with us. We appreciate your comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Gallo Manor Lodge for 13 nights as I was attending a training course nearby . First impressions as I walked in the door were not disappointing. A great location for a first visit to South Africa , beautiful house and gardens , feels just like being at home . Breakfast and service was excellent , transport and transfers were arranged by our hosts and Lynne had some super suggestions on where we should visit. Other facilities around we're also excellent , shopping and many restaurants nearby with many varieties of taste . I would recommend this lodge to anyone and everyone . Fantastic

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker_gw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Were pleased to hear that your trip to South Africa was an unforgetable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
1.6 mi away
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
3.9 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
1.1 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 46 in Sandton
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallo Manor Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallo Manor Country Lodge

Address: 23 Canterbury Crescent | Gallo Manor, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: $79 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gallo Manor Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Rivonia, Sunninghill and Woodmead, bordering the prestigious Johannesburg Country Club Golf Course. This popular Guesthouse boasts a secure, tranquil touch of luxury associated with a relaxed homely feel. We pride ourselves on superb excellence in service, and uphold high hospitality standards. Gallo Manor, a Guesthouse of distinction and style, awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gallo Manor Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallo Manor Country Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing