We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and unbelievable hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gallo Manor Country Lodge
Ranked #20 of 81 Sandton B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had an outstanding 13 nights stay at the Gallo Manor Lodge, with the accommodation, hospitality, food and service living up to the 5star rating. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and the lodge provided a much needed home from home feel for such a lengthy stay. Lynn, couldn't do enough for myself and my fellow travelling companions, organising transfers not only to and from the airport but also too and from the training centre and anywhere else we wished to explore. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby that offer excellent choice and quality at a very reasonable price, and Lynn is always on hand to offer suggestions/recommendations if asked. I would and already have recommended this place to my friends and collegues, and would definitely return here again myself.

Room Tip: The Cleopatra was an excellent room and perfect for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing your Gallo Manor experience with us. We appreciate your comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 103 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Gallo Manor Lodge for 13 nights as I was attending a training course nearby . First impressions as I walked in the door were not disappointing. A great location for a first visit to South Africa , beautiful house and gardens , feels just like being at home . Breakfast and service was excellent , transport and transfers were arranged by our hosts and Lynne had some super suggestions on where we should visit. Other facilities around we're also excellent , shopping and many restaurants nearby with many varieties of taste . I would recommend this lodge to anyone and everyone . Fantastic

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker_gw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Were pleased to hear that your trip to South Africa was an unforgetable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I'm just back in France after 2 weeks in Gallo Manor lodge. It is a very nice place to stay. The owners were really helpful, providing very good advice for finding restaurant or places to visit.

My room was great. Much space and a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidierN846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We welcome your review and look forward to future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had a 2 night stay at the Gallo Manor Lodge in Nov 2012 and it was excellent. Lynne was the consumate host. Room was excellent - good size, excellent shower, nicely fitted out in pleasant surroundings. Breakfast was also good and i was able to order more or less what I wanted.

Room Tip: The Venezia room was a good one for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyboggiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

We appreciate you for sharing your Gallo Manor experience with us and look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here for an extended business trip to Sandton and enjoyed every minute of my stay. The hosts and staff were extremely helpful and attended to my every need. From making reservations to local tourist advice nothing was too much. Their help really allowed me to make the most of my stay and see areas I would otherwise not have visited.

The quiet location and homely interiors made staying here feel like a home from home. Not to mention the beautiful gardens and roof terraces, that make a perfect setting to enjoy peaceful evenings watching the sun go down.

With a lodge like this one you get so much more than staying at a Hotel, I would highly recommend staying here and I hope the be back very soon.

Room Tip: I stayed in Capri, which was very private and had a lovely view over the gardens and pool, not to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

We aim to ensure that visitors to Gallo Manor Lodge are given a comprehensive option of tours and experiences to suite their needs. A mix of business and leisure travelers makes our task more exciting as it offers more versatility. We look forward to their return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Gallo Manor for 4 nights. It was very relaxing and private. It is in a great location and feels very safe. The quality of service was very high. The room was very nice. We would recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cajada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We enjoyed meeting you and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My niece lives in the UK, and to celebrate the upcoming birth of her baby. we had a 'Skype' baby shower at Gallo Manor Country Lodge. The Venezia Suite was transformed into the perfect baby shower venue for a group of 16. A High Tea was catered for by me. Lodge owner, Lynne Taylor as well as her staff were more than willing to assist at every turn. My sister set up her laptop and data projector; with the easy wifi access at the lodge we swiftly connected to the UK via Skype and enjoyed an afternoon of sharing with her daughter - my niece - who, although she couldn't be with us physically, was a virtual reality and we were able to see her on a big screen. The children who accompanied their mothers to the baby shower were able to enjoy an afternoon in the play area outside. The efficiency of the staff and facilities of Gallo Manor Country Lodge made this day even more special. As for the Venezia Suite - I could recommend its use as a small conference setting - private and comfortable. Thank you Lynne for an amazing day at your exquisite lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for choosing Gallo Manor Lodge for your Special occassion venue. It was a pleasure hosing your party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.7 mi away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 81 in Sandton
689 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,430 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,013 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#25 of 47 in Sandton
113 reviews
5 mi away
Silver Oak Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallo Manor Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallo Manor Country Lodge

Address: 23 Canterbury Crescent | Gallo Manor, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: $95 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gallo Manor Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Rivonia, Sunninghill and Woodmead, bordering the prestigious Johannesburg Country Club Golf Course. This popular Guesthouse boasts a secure, tranquil touch of luxury associated with a relaxed homely feel. We pride ourselves on superb excellence in service, and uphold high hospitality standards. Gallo Manor, a Guesthouse of distinction and style, awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gallo Manor Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallo Manor Country Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing