We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Capital 20 West
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have been staying here for the last 2 weeks, and will probably stay another ten days as we wait to move into our house. We have the 2 bedroom suite and I can say it is the most comfortable furnished rental I have stayed in. The service is excellent and the kitchen is well equipped. We have eaten at the restaurant a few times and the food is good with great service. We will most definitely stay here when we leave Johannesburg on the way out! But this place has everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoCoucou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you very much for this excellent feedback. I will pass you compliments onto our staff. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay at 20 West. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Capital 20 West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 248 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Been to 20 west on 3 different occasions right through 2013. Great location real close to heart of Sandton and nice rooms. The 2 room apartment with the big kitchen is a real good one but I stayed in the much smaller 1 room studio which does not have a kitchen and took the breakfast package

Pretty decent breakfast spread considering that this is not a regular hotel and you will get some apples at the front desk at all times. Only Sour note is the terrible internet connection and you get just 250 MB free which is pitifully less considering that this is the CBD of Jo'burg. They even have a shuttle service to the Gautrain station and Mandela Square. If you need a medium to long term stay at Sandton and a nice place this is the one!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinchillRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you very much for the very positive feedback and for your on-going patronage. I wish you a great year ahead and look forward to welcoming you back to 20 West in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

During my recent and first visit to Johannesburg, South African I had the pleasure of staying at 20 West Executive Suite. Due to a change in plans, I had to book the reservation at the last minute and was quite pleased to get a decent rate. The hotel is centrally located in the Morningside section of Sandton, a suburb area in Jo-Burg. It was just minutes away from Nelson Mandela square and the transit system. The hotel is located in a steel and glass building, which featured a breath-taking 8 story atrium. The facility featured a lit swimming pool with a tranquil waterfall; spacious conference rooms and an enhanced physical fitness facility with brand-new top of the line equipment. I stayed on the 3rd floor and enjoyed my standard room with queen-size bed, desk and steam shower. The only downside was the internet and WiFi. I had to register with an outside vendor and was only given a daily allowance of 10G a day. The signal was extremely weak and I could only use it on one of devise at a time. However, the wait staff was excellent and the restaurant served a quality breakfast.

Room Tip: This is a resident and hotel building so the amenities and client relationship could be challenging...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this excellent feedback. I wish you a wonderful new year and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to 20 West in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I really appreciate it when a hotel recognizes my regular visits. This usually means that you can get a room at the last minute at a good rate. So happy well done guys. Cleaning team needs to check for finer details with dust on the base of the bed, etc. also the hotel transport was a problem today. Hope to return here soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantH490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
In warm appreciation of our on-going association during the past year, we extend our very best wishes for a happy holiday season.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 weeks and it was very comfortable and a home from home which I was after. I will start with the bad points first. The place is a mixed residential and hotel it can be quite impersonal experience. If you want to go out and about locally you will need a car, there is no where near by you can walk to, hotel is located in a residential area. Most of the front desk staff are not from the local area and have no idea of what the local restaurants are or the where the larger supermarkets are. The taxi firm the hotel uses (Neon Taxi) are to watch out for, they charge more than others and the cars are old. Certain hotel staff will insist they only have one firm but there are two firms as some staff have got me the other one, makes you wonder. The cleaners did a good job, I had to complain three times, once over neighbours wanting to party until 1am, one over laundry and room not being cleaned properly but over a 5 week stay they did quite well. Now for the good points, the 1 bed apartment is big, modern and has the mod cons. I had a balcony which had an amazing view of the city which was breath taking and you could sit outside, so it was not a small balcony. A very large bed, sheets and towels are cleaned on a regular basis. The cleaning staff are friendly and guest staff at the front door are simply great. The restaurant food is good and the staff there are good also. I was after a home from home due to the long stay and I loved the apartment. The air con worked, the fridge was big, there was a cooker with extractor, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, coffee maker. The bathroom had double sinks, a large round bath and separate good sized shower, all clean and very nice, I certainly felt very spoilt. The is a swimming pool there and was used by guests, so it must have been good. The gym I used on a regular basis, nice gym, again all modern kit, not mega busy which made it a joy to used. The front desk staff are good on the whole, some need to learn about the local area. The management are very professional and very good at what they do, I couldn't fault them. Location is ideal if you have a car, and is quite which is perfect. Overall would most certainly come back again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MxP1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback.

I hope that we can welcome you back to 20 West in the not too distant future and I wish you and your family a magical and delightful festive season.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed in this aprtment hotel for 2 weeks and I recommend it for long stays.

The apartments are big and nicely decorated. The hotel has a nice pool and gym with top notch equipment.

The room service works well as well as remaining service.

The only disavantages is that it feels very impersonal, it is a huge block of apartments and the sound isolation of the apartments should be better as you can hear your neighbours too well.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick the apartment rooms, their cheapest room is terrible as it only has a window to t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grao_Mestre_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. I hope we can welcome you back to 20 West soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

If you like your space and not need to pay ridiculous amounts of money for a very comfortable and affordable place? 20 west is everything... Short business trips etc, but just be careful not get a single room without the kitchen cause you will get a cupboard for a room. Other than that the front desk clerks could be nicer...

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Muchohi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for you feedback.

Our two-bedroom apartments (110m2) and one-bedroom apartments (80m2) are very comfortable and spacious as you pointed out.

Our standard hotel rooms (30m2) are excellent value for money @ R1070.00 per room per night and are ideal short stay guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to 20 West soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,334 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Capital Empire
The Capital Empire
#20 of 46 in Sandton
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 46 in Sandton
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
1.2 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#26 of 46 in Sandton
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital 20 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital 20 West

Address: 20 West South Road | Morningside, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly 20 West Executive Apartments & Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Sandton
Price Range: $75 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital 20 West 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay contemporary. Stay where you count. The superbly central location of The Capital 20 West makes it the superior choice of business professionals. Smart money knows where to stay - and with 139 rooms a choice of either 1 or 2 bedroom apartments or standard rooms, we have ample accommodation for overnight or longer-term stays. All our guests enjoy complimentary parking, complimentary laundry, complimentary scheduled transfers to Sandton and complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout their stay. A state-of-the-art conference centre makes The Capital 20 West the choice of companies who know how to make money count. Our main conference room can accommodate 200 delegates, plus we have 3 breakaway/meeting rooms, 4 boardrooms and 1 executive dining room/boardroom, all with natural light and equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Capital 20 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 West Executive Apartments Hotel Sandton
20 West Executive Apartments And Hotel
The Capital 20 West Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing