We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nice but lack of soundproofing is a dealbreaker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Capital 20 West
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Looks nice but lack of soundproofing is a dealbreaker”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The staff at reception are relatively helpful as are the staff in the main restaurant - although they look as if they'd rather be anywhere but serving you with the exception of the chef who was delightful and eager to please.

Breakfast is good, decent variety and opening hours.

I would never go back to this hotel based on the sounds I could hear coming in from outside and the adjoining room.

I was situated at the end of a hall with only one room beyond me and what appeared to be a cleaning/storage cupboard by me also. The sound of hotel staff chatting loudly and whopping came into my room as if they were in there with me. Not great for trying to get some rest.

The woman in the adjoining room had the tv on and ordered room service. I could hear what was happening so clearly in her room that the sound of her placing her cutlery on her plate when she finished eating rang out in my room. The tv and her phone conversation were far louder. I felt like there was someone in bed next to me with the tv on.

But by far and away the worst thing about the lack of soundproofing was lying in bed the next morning to hear my neighbour letting off farts.

I've stayed in several hotels where soundproofing could be better - but this one takes the cake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsHellfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for this feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for you unpleasant stay. I am unable to track down the room number that you stayed in as this review does not have your real name attached to it. I will really appreciate it if you could email me the detail on astrid@20west.co.za so that I can have the sound proofing of the room inspected by our facilities department. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    94
    24
    18
    14
See reviews for
32
48
22
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Everything in this place is well thought of.The warmth welcome from security,reception and the rooms make you feel at home.The rooms were well furnished with nice blankets and bright colors..i real enjoyed showering.Balcony overviewing of the centered flowing pool cherish your mood. Everything from this hotel is of the modern society.Gown,shoes ,and many more.The housekeepers are also friendly and keeping everything in order and always available for us.Staff and management keep it!!U have up5...
The place is very close to Sandton mall.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have views like the one that i was in. I had to go out to refresh. U feel like you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nbazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We look forward to your next visit at 20 West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here recently for a week whilst back in SA on business, and was fairly impressed. I stayed in a large apartment (separate bedroom, bathroom, large lounge/dining/kitchen area combined, balcony overlooking a street), which was definitely going for the "executive" decor - very clean, modern, stark whites and dark woods, tiled floors. Apartment was fully appointed with modern, late model appliances, which was great - a trip to the Pick 'n Pay on Monday and I was set for a week's worth of homecooked meals. There is also enough cutlery and crockery to entertain if you would like.

Undoubtedly the best point is the fact that it is a home away from home, but still fully serviced - cleaned every day, with complimentary laundry on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays - big score if you're going to be here a while. Other nice touches are the 150mb free internet per device per 24 hours, and the coffee/tea/milk/sugar and welcome kit on arrival.

There is an outdoor pool, and restaurant with a bar, which I didn't really sample, but looked a little dead as I walked past. Staff are pretty friendly - again, not much interaction over the course of the week.

Overall, a very good place to stay for a business trip I think, if you enjoy the "independent" home-away-from-home sort of experience. If you're looking more for a meal out every night, and a cosy bar for a nightcap, you'd probably be better off looking at a more traditional hotel than this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive review. I hope look forward to welcoming you back to 20 West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
219 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I live staying at this hotel for the fact that it isdo well managed with excellent security and great service. They are also a member of Hotel Express International. They also remember their regular guests. The beds are also awsome. Restuarant needs some attention.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantH490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope to welcome you back to 20 West in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A good place to stay, regardless if it is business of pleasure. Good location, and near to most of stuff. A well fitted gym and fully catered restaurant. You can choose from rooms to apartments and prices are very good compared to other nearby and the offered amenities.
Parking available and fully secured complex.
Staff very friendly and accessible

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldo_Tembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to 20 West soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
304 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Can not complain ab this hotel. Price is aceptable , location is perfect . Hotel has a nice gym and swimming pool . A restaurant i have never used the service from during two visits using the services from this hotel . Parking widely available and underground parking gives you direct acces to elevators. Rooms are decent with all te bells and whistles , maybe cable tv could be organised in such a way that we would have all dstv channels and not oly a few of them . Room cleaning is done well and complimentary laundry service is apreciated and would even be more apreciated if shirts would be folded , think of your business guests who need to travel . As only negative comment ab this hotel i would critisize the architect who designed this hotel rooms have nearly no sun or day light and this just because the way this place was designed. I will surely be back soon and enjoy the good and friendly service the people of this hotel give me now i just have to hope they will let me check out late afternoon and not 10 am as my flight leaves in the evening and i have to work during the day and would apreciate if this hotel would let me either use my room or give me a room to freshen up before my flight this would make service near perfect as i receive in asian countrys when on a business trip there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your continued patronage and your relevant feedback. I hope to welcome you back to 20 West soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is magnificent! The staff is professional, very helpful & very friendly! The 2-bedroom apartment is fully equipped, spacious rooms, and beautifully decorated! We'll definitely be back! Thank-you 20 West!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharmaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us have this excellent feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to 20 West in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.0 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.4 mi away
The Capital Empire
The Capital Empire
#20 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital 20 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital 20 West

Property: The Capital 20 West
Address: 20 West South Road | Morningside, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly 20 West Executive Apartments & Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital 20 West 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay contemporary. Stay where you count. The superbly central location of The Capital 20 West makes it the superior choice of business professionals. Smart money knows where to stay - and with 139 rooms a choice of either 1 or 2 bedroom apartments or standard rooms, we have ample accommodation for overnight or longer-term stays. All our guests enjoy complimentary parking, complimentary laundry, complimentary scheduled transfers to Sandton and complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout their stay. A state-of-the-art conference centre makes The Capital 20 West the choice of companies who know how to make money count. Our main conference room can accommodate 200 delegates, plus we have 3 breakaway/meeting rooms, 4 boardrooms and 1 executive dining room/boardroom, all with natural light and equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Capital 20 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 West Executive Apartments And Hotel
20 West Executive Apartments Hotel Sandton
The Capital 20 West Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing