We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, serene and very hospitable”
Review of Thatchfoord Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thatchfoord Lodge
Ranked #7 of 73 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Charming, serene and very hospitable”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Thanks to Joyce and Pearl for making me feel at home. Thatchfoord is a home away from home, serene sounds of the stream that flows bye and all the birds chirping away as they go about their business undisturbed, just like they would in a forest. Peaceful setting.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenya254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Manager at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Good morning,

We love having you, we really strive to make each and every guest stay memorable.
All the thank you's from you show that we are doing just that.

Warmest Regards
Pearl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    28
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
36
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I needed to arrange a large accomodation set up for my whole family and friends for my upcoming wedding in south Africa, this included my mum and dad and uncle and sisters and in laws... So lots of adults all with different requirements... I found thatchfoord lodge and could not have been happier. From the moment I first contacted them via email, they made me feel welcome and showed great interest in my guests and our Eason for visiting, they assisted with a group discount plus so much more I regards to advice for tours and transfers.... Once we turned up our expectations were far exceeded by the staff. Pearl and Joyce make you feel like you are going to stay at a frien house the entire time... They just happen to be friends that live in a glorious house overlooking a great river that gives you a totally serene and peaceful feeling in the heart of the jungle walled building on joburg... This place was delightful the rooms immaculate the service was just perfect, while still giving you loads of space they attend to your needs, they provided us complimentary champagne and cheese on arrival to celebrate our upcoming wedding, they responded to late night meal requests that matched out jet lagged bellies... Seriously they just looked after us the old fashioned way, we will definitely stay again and I can't recommend highly enough this place to any travelers looking to stay over in joburg either for a night or longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Manager at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Good morning All,

It was awesome having you and all the family. We strive to make everyone stay memorable.
Hopefully all the stress is over with meeting the new family and the wedding. We wish you
all the best as a couple

Warmest Regards
Pearl/Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved this place and enjoyed a lazy day lounging by the pool over the weekend when the lodge was far from busy. We had the honeymoon suite which was called willows which was just wonderful. Lots of little touches that shows the owner and manager have a thoughtful and generous approach. We booked last minutes and wanted to stay longer. Only improvements would be fresh coffee in the room like many of the lodges on the cape, but apart from this it is hard to fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMC200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Manager at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for your review, we loved having you here and appreciated your observation we
will definately implement it as we feel it will add value. Look forward to see you in the future

Warmest Regards
Pearl/Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I spent few weeks in thatchfoord, every thing was very nice with excelent service, in this lodge you feel like you are with your family for that I would like to thanks all staffs, specially pearl and his daughter , Elisa, all housekeeping ladies and the Owner.

Room Tip: Room in the 1st floor with the view on the garden and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MouncifK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Is very nice place to stay,great food,very nice service,the room was great ,clean.Wifi is free.
It as a nice river with a beautiful green area.

Thank you all for your great service and i will be back soon.

Room Tip: Chose the garden room or top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseCunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Owner at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Good evening Jose,

Thankyou very much for your positive response.We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in a few weeks time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a great stay at Thatchfoord Lodge. Our room was great, clean and new towels every day. The breakfast was very good. We could any time of the day using WiFi, wherever we were, both in the room and on the terrace by the lovely pool. At the rear of Thatchfoord Lodge flows the Sand River, which is very soothing, rippling between the large stones. We had a great walk along the river to flow. It was very relaxing to walk there with the birds and the flow of the water. The very nice hosts Joyce and Pearl were very willing to give us any information about opportunities in the area and they are very welcoming and always interested in our experiences and questions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Located in Morningside beside the Sand river Thatchfoord Lodge offers quiet and tranquility rarely found in an urban environment. The rooms are clustered around a good sized pool which itself is sited within a lawned garden. We stayed in the Willows suite which is on the first floor overlooking both the pool and the river. The room is spacious, delightfully furnished and also boasts a lovely, furnished sun terrace. Joyce and Pearl who run the lodge are both welcoming and helpful and they also provide an excellent breakfast. Just one caveat and that is that all of the rooms - even Willows - are very exposed to the view of anyone wandering around the pool or on the lawns so privacy is somewhat compromised. This apart however the Lodge is an excellent choice to stay at in the Sandton/Rivonia area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Owner at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thankyou very much for your review of Thatchfoord Lodge.We really appreciate your

staying with us and hope that you will return in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.5 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.5 mi away
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
#17 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchfoord Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchfoord Lodge

Property: Thatchfoord Lodge
Address: 53 Crassula Avenue | Morningside Manor, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchfoord Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thatchfoord Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchfoord Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing