We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Urban setting”
Review of Thatchfoord Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thatchfoord Lodge
Ranked #7 of 74 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful Urban setting”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Located in Morningside beside the Sand river Thatchfoord Lodge offers quiet and tranquility rarely found in an urban environment. The rooms are clustered around a good sized pool which itself is sited within a lawned garden. We stayed in the Willows suite which is on the first floor overlooking both the pool and the river. The room is spacious, delightfully furnished and also boasts a lovely, furnished sun terrace. Joyce and Pearl who run the lodge are both welcoming and helpful and they also provide an excellent breakfast. Just one caveat and that is that all of the rooms - even Willows - are very exposed to the view of anyone wandering around the pool or on the lawns so privacy is somewhat compromised. This apart however the Lodge is an excellent choice to stay at in the Sandton/Rivonia area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Owner at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thankyou very much for your review of Thatchfoord Lodge.We really appreciate your

staying with us and hope that you will return in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    28
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
36
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This lodge has been the ultimate retreat. Relaxing surroundings (especially the pool), lovely rooms/studios, an attentive and delightful hostess, wonderful breakfasts and overall a charming atmosphere. The lodge is walking distance to a local mall so it is so easy to just pop out to have a coffee or send postcards.The surrounding streets seem to be turning into a safe compound so you often see people strolling along the quiet treelined roads without having to go on the main roads.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

It's really not in Sandton but in Morningside. Which is not an issue, you just need a car to get to Sandton if that is where you planned to be. We stayed in the room facing the swimming pool, it's large and has a beautifully thatched roof. The beds were comfortable, the owners even added another bed to the room so my friend and I both had our own. Breakfast is standard. It did feel a bit weird to drive into a gated community and then also pass security at the door - it's worrying that this amount of security is necessary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElviraVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Joyce and Pearl run a great lodge. If you are looking for an upmarket, safe and quiet stay this is a perfect place. The lodge is based in a gated neighbourhood, near MorningSide/Rivonia/Sandton. It is best to have a car to go and explore the area.
The building and rooms have thatched roofs which gives the place a great atmosphere. Most rooms are situated around a small pool.
Steven helps out the owners and in my case for some money he cleaned my car, that I had to return at the airport. Very nice!
If needed a baby cot or an extra bed are provided!
I stayed one night with my friend and her baby and one night on my own.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is our second stay here. The decor is different but the welcome is still the same: warm and from the heart. Joyce and Pearl still remember our likes and dislikes. Irreproachable cleanliness and organisation. This place is so peaceful and you feel so relaxed. I will recommend the Thatchfoord Lodge anytime. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: The rooms with a view on the pool and the river are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

It is a very quiet place, with a very pleasant outside, and the nicest people in the entire South Africa. They not only give us accommodation, they take care of us. It has become my favorite place to stay in South Africa.

Room Tip: Rooms the give you access to the outside, pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelioMachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Me and my kids found a nice place to stay, we felt like home in the heart of Sandton. So far from Gabon, we found heartful and warm welcome, advices, help and disponibility.
We felt like in countryside with the river just here and at 5 minutes drive from Sandton City and Mandela Square. Definitely, I will come back. Pearl, Joyce and their staff were adorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVOLibreville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.5 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.5 mi away
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
#17 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchfoord Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchfoord Lodge

Property: Thatchfoord Lodge
Address: 53 Crassula Avenue | Morningside Manor, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchfoord Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thatchfoord Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchfoord Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing