We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thatchfoord Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thatchfoord Lodge
Ranked #6 of 72 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Thatchfoord lodge is a perfect serenity. It is nestled in a residential neighborhood close to Sandton's business district. Joyce and Pearl are absolute delights and were attentive to our needs. We were here to wrap up a business report and it was the perfect site to do so.

The birds in the morning and the constant rustle of the Sand River make it a great place to relax after a long day at work or touring. I would recommend it to anyone. This will be my base next time I am in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: I recommend the Weavers nest or the honeymoon suite. All the rooms are similarly priced but these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toblobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
36
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

On my recent stay the gals of Thatchfoord again demonstrated a willingness to do a little extra to ensure my comfort. I realized I was going to arrive late with no car and would not have eaten. A quick email requesting a lite dinner when I arrived was promptly answered and I had a delicious meal waiting for me.

You can expect that at Thatchfoord.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Joyce, Pearl and her friendly staff gave my family and I a truly memorable experience. Excellent, very secure location- safe, country feeling in the middle of a vibrant and chic part of Johannesburg...the sound of the running water of the Sandspruit stream, beautiful green surroundings and extremely spacious, clean and well looked after rooms with excellent facilities topped off an excellent holiday. The rooms offer privacy for both personal and business clients alike and communal areas provided us with the opportunity to meet some really good people. Will def be back and commend Joyce, Perl and their team..well done and a VERY BIG THANK YOU from us all. Ifraan

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ifraan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Not a bad place, but not good value compared to other Guest Houses
in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_Mauritius15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Beautiful, quiet and very relaxed - the place has a lovely large garden and swimming pool, and Pearl and Joyce will make you feel like its a home away from home. Thatchfoord lodge combines 5 star comfort with a real home-away-from-home feeling. I have been twice and will defintiely be back. Very family-friendly and secure with electric fences and night watchman. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at Thatchfoord Lodge for 2 weeks and were able to really relax. Very quiet and peaceful beside the river and with lovely gardens and pool. The staff were most helpful and friendly and accomodating, like staying with friends.
We always felt very secure and with easy access to Sandton you would not feel like you were in a large urban city.
Pearl and Joyce you are doing so well and I would recommend Thatchfoord to anyone wanting a relaxing,quiet stay close to Sandton.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Quiet, serene and cosy: Thatchfoord Lodge definitely makes an excellent place to unwind and relax in the heart of the city. Its beautiful, garden setting poised infront of the running river makes it almost feel like a rare escape from the chaos of Johannesburg. After overlanding through Africa for almost a month, I was thankful to relax and let my hair down at Thatchfoord Lodge. Pearl and Joyce were the best hosts - they were kind and attentive, making me feel at home, as if I was staying with local friends. I'll definitely stay here again the next time I'm back in Johannesburg, till then I'll just have to keep the smell of the garden and running river in my memories...

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite offers excellent view over the swimming pool and surrounding river and garden. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildJunket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.5 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.5 mi away
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
#17 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchfoord Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchfoord Lodge

Property: Thatchfoord Lodge
Address: 53 Crassula Avenue | Morningside Manor, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchfoord Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thatchfoord Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchfoord Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing