We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for Sandton area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for Sandton area”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location of this hotel across from the Sandton Gautrain station and a short walk away from Sandton City shoppin centre makes it an ideal location for both business and leisure travel. The friendliness of all staff from check in to porters to cleaners makes one look forward to go back for another visit relatively soon. Overall very good service with a free upgrade without even requesting one and this is something which we all look forward to

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for the great 4 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant.

We are delighted to be your hotel of choice on your next visit to Johannesburg and we can’t wait to welcome you back!

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    477
    129
    53
    53
See reviews for
110
244
91
617
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The rooms are brilliant. Coffee maker with capsules. Interior decoration, the bed. Nothing to complain. Obviously you like to go to sandton square. but the staff does not know how to get you there. I took a map and walked but did not really feal safe passing all the taxi rangs.

The hotel is just across the Gautrain station and it makes it easy to carry your luggage just across the road.

If you get it for a good price (less 100 Euros) this is my choice in Sandton to spoil your wife.

Room Tip: any room. I had a room with coffee maker (capsules). nice bath and good tv. very good i felt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeinOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear HeinOtt,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests in our rooms and hotel facilities.

We apologize if you were misinformed regarding the free shuttle we have to offer our guests. We will address this with our staff to ensure this does not happen again to future guests.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 4 nights. It's very comfortable and relaxing. Gym on last floor with nice view over the city.
The hotel was very good. Staff were very friendly, helpful and cheerful.
The food was nice, copious with lots of variety. The room was very clean and serviced everyday.
There is Nelson Mandela Square few minutes walk so it was convenient for last day shopping.
It's a Hotel that I would recommend if you're visiting Johannesburg but far from the Bauma Africa - Gallagher Convention Centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdel_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Abdel_ie,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and staff to be helpful.

Our Executive Chef Stuart Cason will be very pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience, I will be sure to pass your message of compliments to him and the entire restaurant team.

We are delighted that you will be recommending our hotel. This is a testament to our hard work to always strive for 100% guest satisfaction at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

You first have to navigate your way into the hotel, as it shares the building with other businesses. That said it truly is around the corner from the Gautrain, which connects it to the Joburg airport in about 20 minutes (pay attention as the trains leave every 1/2hr, so you may get stuck if you just miss it; the hotel is only a 3 minute walk from the station and 5 minutes of the escalator ride into the Gautrain abyss).

The only real complaint I have is how long it took to check out. The bureaucracy of RSA still rocks and the Radisson is not immune. The staff are reasonably pleasant as this unfolds. The rooms are the nice but nothing-special rooms, hence my title. You basically have all you need and everything is comfortable, but already two weeks later, I cannot remember the look of the room. The bathroom was clean and the key amenities were all there. I ordered room service which was prompt and decent too. Breakfast was generous and the choice was good. Internet was included in the room price.

I have absolutely no complaints and I am likely to chose the hotel again for an overnight as I transit through Joburg. It's just yet another hotel the look of which will be escaping you only days after you checked out...

Room Tip: They have smoking rooms. Avoid if that bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisDivjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Boris,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

We are exactly 55 steps away from the Gautrain and are pleased that our location was convenient during your time in Johannesburg. On your next visit, please make use of the complimentary shuttle and experience Nelson Mandela square with all its restaurants and the shopping at Sandton City.

We have noted your concerns with regards to the check-out service being on the slow side, I will inform our front office manager so that training can be put into place to increase service speed.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week on business during June. Staff very approachable and helpful, shuttle service around santon was very useful. Area opposite hotel is undergoing extensive building work but as I was out during the day this never bothered me. Wifi was good, rooms spacious and clean with a nice shower. Hotel bar was well stocked, gym facilities were good and the hotel pool a nice area to rest and relax after a long day. All in all a good hotel central to all amenities in Sandton and a minutes walk from the train station.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sjpw1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Waltontoffee,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent, being the most centrally located hotel in Sandton does provide certain perks and we are happy that you took advantage of our free shuttle to explore the surrounding Sandton area.
The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant.

We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and we are delighted that you found our team to be helpful and efficient. We will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

We are very delighted that you only had pros for our hotel and no cons, this shows us that our guests are really starting to notice all the hard work which we are putting in to strive for that 100% guest satisfaction guarantee.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The main good this about this hotel is the location (opposite the Sandton gautrain station). The room was clean, however they forgot to clean out the bathroom bin from the previous guest.
The room service was not great, in that the lady over the phone seemed confused as to whether I could pay at check out. The chicken was partly raw, so that wasn't great.
Check out was also a hassle, since the lady there seemed to lazy to give my back my proper change.
Breakfast was nice, and has a wide selection of things to choose from. Again though, the service let the experience down.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Lily C,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg, we are so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations of a Radisson Blu Hotel.

We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service from our staff. We have passed on your comments regarding staff and guest interaction and the quality of food you experienced. These areas of concern will be addressed with the team to ensure that we deliver outstanding service. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. I hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a very nice business hotel, in a nice location walking distance from Mandela Square in Sandton. I did not rated it better since the hotel failed in providing shuttle service from the OR Tambo airport to the hotel (it was scheduled but the driver never showed up), and then the manager on duty when I complained did not care about replying or explaining what happened, even after promising to do it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Rafael L,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg, we are so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations of a Radisson Blu Hotel.

We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service from our staff. We have passed on your comments regarding the manner in which your transport booking was dealt with and will be investigated to ensure this does not happen to any of our future guests.
Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. These areas of concern will be addressed with the team to ensure that we deliver outstanding service.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. I hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing