We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed for one night in May 2014.
Room was spacious, clean and well appointed with a nice view of Sandton.
We had dinner in the restaurant and it was good without being outstanding.
Breakfast was a buffet with a good variety.

The free shuttle to Mandela square was handy and as it runs every 30 mins it is easy to get to and from the shopping in Sandton.

The hotel organised a private transfer to and from O.R Tambo airport which although slightly on the expensive side, was very handy.

Happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazzlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Gazzlock,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg. We are so pleased that you will be returning to experience our great hospitality.

We are delighted that you loved every aspect of your stay with us, our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    457
    125
    52
    53
See reviews for
106
234
88
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

A quick one night stay for a conference in a standard room was pleasant, convenient and of high standard. Meals were good, facilities very good, service great. The location of this hotel opposite the Gautrain Sandton station is excellent. The Sandstone Mall and Sandton Square with Nelson Mandela statue is 500m away - makes for convenience ++. Spouses of colleagues spent 2 pleasant days in the mall and the spa.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SuskaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear SuskaS,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for the excellent review.

It is really great to hear that you had a great experience with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations. I will make sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel team.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel was modern, clean and everything was up to expectations.


Lobby bar and breakfast area were good. Buffet breakfast good quality with fair selection.

Only thing to complain is that hotel wifi can be unsteady at times.


I stayed in a junior suite which offers great view, rain shower and a firm bed which gave me a good nights sleep. Better than some of the older hotels nearby, like Hilton.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nelson204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Nelson204,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg.

It is really great to hear that you found the quality of our Hotel top notch. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant. I recommend coming for dinner on your next stay. The Central One Restaurant offers a uniquely refined selection of cuisine using the freshest ingredients which results in a memorable dining experience.

I do apologies for the issues you had with our Wi-Fi, but we recently upgraded and should be back to brand standard on your next visit.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Radisson Gautrain hotel on Labour day. The thing I value most at this hotel is the location. This was our first time to SAR and It's literally right outside the Gautrain Sandton station which made traveling from the airport (even with all our luggage) a fifteen minute breeze. Traveling around Johannesburg was also a lot easier because of that as well and Nelson Mandela Square was right around the corner.
Our check in was very swift and efficient. The room was a little small for the price but had an excellent view of Sandton. The Nespresso machine and variety of Tv channels were much appreciated. The reception staff were polite , friendly and efficient. The wait staff in the restaurant- not so much ,although breakfast was excellent!
I didn't appreciate the layout of the hotel in terms of the entrance being on ground floor and the reception being on 3rd. Also did not like the wet area of the bathroom being right outside the bath (it felt like one was messing up the bathroom floor intentionally). The bathroom walls were thin with a frosted glass wall which made it slightly uncomfortable to use (even though it was just my husband and I) but I guess some people may enjoy this design.
It didn't feel like a Radisson entirely but I highly recommend this hotel for its excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandVaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear KandVaroundtheworld,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg, we are so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations of a Radisson Blu Hotel.

We are however delighted that you would recommend our hotel to family and friends. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and we are delighted that you found our team to be helpful and efficient. We will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is super convenient if you have a short trip to Jo'burg as you can get off the plane - on to the Gautrain and in 15 minutes be in Sandton and the hotel is diagonally opposite the Gautrain station. The reception is on the third floor and next to a good restaurant and bar area. There's an outside terrace and swimming pool as well. The rooms are modern, clean and have a seating/almost a suite area. Good value with the advantage of the Slow Lounge beneath the hotel which you can rent for business meetings and located right near Nelson Mandela Sq and the Mall so other dining options nearby

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Nicholas,

Thank you very much for the great 4 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really positive to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant.
We are pleased that the hotel met your expectations.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
266 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

we are a couple ( 2 doctors from Cairo, Egypt ), we stayed in this hotel for one night in April 2014, we had a problem in checking in due to a defect in communication between the tourism company that made the reservation for us, the supplier, and the hotel, the problem was dealt with in a professional way from the young man in the hotel reception ( Mr/ Miven ). that was a good positive first impression about the hotel. The hotel room was very comfortable, bath room is clean, breakfast was of good quality. the location of the hotel, is in a very good and Safe area. near to the Sandton shopping center, 2 minutes by the hotel "complementary" shuttle car, and 5 minutes walk, in a safe area. you can find most of your needs in that sopping center, ( food, shopping, banks, etc..). in conclusion we felt we are in a safe place, and that was the most important issue for us.

Room Tip: please, do not get a room overlooking the swimming pool, because it overlooks also an area which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Good Day,

Firstly thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

It is really great to hear that your problem at check in was resolved in a very professional manner by Miven, we will make sure to pass this message of compliments to him.

It is really positive to hear that you felt safe whilst staying with us, our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to all the major shopping centres as well as Nelson Mandela Square and it is also great to hear that you enjoyed making use of our complimentary shuttle service to explore the Sandton area a little bit more.

Once again, thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel on your recent visit and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Christine the Manager was very helpful with a special request and the staff is always attentive. The restaurant, deck with small pool and bar area are all great! A very comfortable, accomodating and eventful place to spend the evening after the work day. The Gautrain across the street is great, cheap and easy to use transportation to and from the airport. The room was very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roccreazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this amazing 5 star review here on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate your positive feedback.

It is really excellent to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time relaxing in our Central One Restaurant and on our Pool Deck.

We are most pleased with your comments about the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff, we strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to Christine and the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.4 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing