We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location right across the Gautrain station from the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very nice staff, very helpful. Good value (breakfast was included in the price). I wished the rooms were better insulated from noisy neighbours, but other than that, this is a very good hotel. The number one advantage is that you just have to cross the street from the Gautrain station when you arrive from /go to OR Tambo Airport, so that you do not need to take a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paris17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Grateful thanks for your very positive review of our hotel. The advantage that our hotel does have in Sandton is the location to the Gautrain Station, which most of our guersts make use to O R Tambo international Airport. My sincere apologies that you experienced some noise from our neighbours during their construction. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments regarding our team and the service provided to you.
We hope to be of service to you in your future stays in Sandton.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is perfect for any business person who is visiting Johannesburg. Ideally positioned in the business district of Sandton and a 20 min ride on the Gautrain link from the airport.
Mandela square is 5 mins walk from the hotel with a variety of shops and restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing Katherine street as there is building works on the opposite end and this c...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbenettolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was here for 5 days on a business trip and all in all in worked out well. The location diagonally across from the Gautrain is obviously one of the major attractions of this hotel and it's general proximity to the centre of Sandton was very useful.
I arrived by car (from the rental agency by the Gautrain) and the parking garage was initially not that obvious from the front of the hotel on Rivonia rd...however, once located I checked in and got a prepaid parking ticket for the week for R50 per day which allowed me to come and go very easily.
The room (a junior suite - complimentary upgrade) was everything I needed and quality of sleep and finishes was great - a number of complimentary magazines were a very nice feature. As this was a business trip I needed to use the phone for conference calls...unfortunately this was located on a random table some considerable distance from the desk, and so making things a bit difficult - this was the only negative about the room. I used in-room dining a couple of times and was pleasantly surprised...the speed of service and quality of food was very good.

I found the reception area very 'hard' and clinical - no soft furnishings at all and so the reception / bar / breakfast and general seting areas were very noisy with talk and intrusive piped music - this spoilt an otherwise good visit. The staff in the breakfast room are plentiful but service was not particularly good and getting seating / coffee was all a bit irritating.
I usually stay in another hotel just on the edge of Sandton and I'll probably use them again as the rate that I got at this hotel was 'top end'.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is the one of the best hotels i have stayed at in South Africa. The management team is superb, and so are all the hotel staff. Proximity is perfect for Gautrain travel, and or business within the greater JHB area.
The hotel food is world-class, and the rooms are bright, modern and fresh. The hotel layout is also extremely well orientated. Comfy beds as well.
Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a view. Great for watching JHB summer thunderstorms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel and its sister (just 2 blocks away) are a revelation for good quality modern accommodation in Sandton. You have some of he best modern rooms available, nice lively lobby, and excellent restaurant. To wrap it all you can jump in the Gautrain across the street, what else do you want?

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan_in_Pretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Most of the people that go to JB on business decide to stay in Sandton and this hotel is one of the best options (depending on the tariff you get obviously).

The location is just PERFECT, in front of Gautrain station which means immediate access from airport to hotel at a very decent price.

Hotel recepction is nice and check inn was fast. They also gave us the room even if we landed at 9am which is a great thing after a long trip from Europe.

Rooms are nice, big, just perfect for business, perfect to work, perfect to relax. The bathroom is huge and there is a rain shower very cool. You feel like home.

Breakfast is great, very well presented and tons of food.

Prices for food and drinks are reasonable.

The hotel has a pool, but its kind of small and water is cold which may be ok for 6/8 months but the rest of the time NO ONE uses it.

The other good thing is that it is very close to Mandela Square with a few restaurants and shops.

Service good.

Would go back if my tariff was closer to 150€ rather than to 250€

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajeroSecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel. First time I stayed here I didn't know what to expect but by checkout time I know i'm coming back. The people here are so nice and friendly especially the guys in Central One. The rate I have includes buffet breakfast (delish!), free wifi, free shuttle, and free smiles :-). The lobby always smells great! Only reason I gave the room a 4-star was because the bathroom was all glass; meaning if you have someone else with you there will be no privacy when you take a shower. But maybe they have a different room configuration if it's for double occupancy? But other than that the room is great and clean...and you get a chocolate bar for turndown service. Also the last time my flight arrived early morning but it was no issue for them to check me in without extra charge.

Oh, and did I mention they remembered me from my last stay? Very trivial for some but for me it's excellent customer service!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r3dqu33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $129 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing