We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weird shower area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weird shower area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel is still fairly new and very clean, we were placed on the 3rd floor and found the room quite small and cramped for the prices charged, the room decor was typical radisson stlye, smart and retro, however the shower toilet area has a see thru window so you can view your partner while doing your business, not so good for the prudish types, the barfridge pricing was really heavy, example R65 for a red bull, normal retail R15-R20 and inroom service pricing also excessive R135 for macoroni and cheese which for locals is a real ripp off, also there is major construction going on and we we woken at 7am on a sunday by the sound of mechanical digger, no sleep in for us ! as for the only restaurant the food was tasty enough but you get very little for the prices charged, overall if your a local it's expensive and not really good value for money.

Room Tip: ask for an honest update on the construction going on around the hotel or you won't get much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arayiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    457
    125
    52
    53
See reviews for
106
234
88
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here for three nights while in Jo'burg on business.

Facility doesn't look so great as you come up to it as it faces right on a busy street. But inside it's really cool and once you make you way up to the main lobby it's just a lovely facility with a lovely staff. Bar staff were really friendly and helpful. I only ate the breakfast buffet which is awesome and stays well-supplied etc.

Room contemporary and perfect, clean and well-cleaned each day. I was travelling along so not an issue for me, but more modest couples traveling might be a bit put off by the glass shower wall.

My only critique is not of the hotel per se but of the Radisson Blu chain. There's another Radisson Blu just down the road, maybe 1/2 kilometer away? So eveyone's constantly showing up at the wrong hotel. I went to the wrong one and on the shuttle to the right one was seated with some guys who'd shown up at MY hotel the day before. When we arrived at MY hotel there were guys waiting for the shuttle to go to the other one because they were at wrong one.

Not the end of the world, and hotel staff were totally helpful, but it must take a huge amount of their time dealing with this which could be better spent on other forms of customer service. Again not the staff's fault but corporate needs to do something. And it does make the whole experience ring hollow when you've been traveling for 26 hours and just want a shower and you're told you have to get into yet another vehicle, even if only for a few minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaraselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard T, Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Zaraselby
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel. Your submission not only gives other travelers an indication of what our Hotel offers but gives us and opportunity to track and react to our guests needs. We thank you for your comments about the confusion created by the location of the two Radisson Blu Hotels; we will continue to look at ways to resolve the identification process. We are however pleased that all staff acted in a "Yes I Can” manner and ensured your arrival at our Hotel.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here as a brief stopover in Jo'burg and have to say we were exceptionally pleased with the whole experience.
It did help we were upgraded to a suite, but the standard rooms looked excellent too. Service from check-in to the bar/restaurant until we left was first class and we thoroughly enjoyed the food as well.
The hotel is just acoss the road from the Gautrain which is in turn just over 10 minutes ride from the airport (bit pricey at around 200 rand return journey) . Sandton shopping centre is five minutes walk and if you want to go to Rosebank for more restaurants then that is only one stop on the train.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDunsBuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel is across the road from the Sandton Gautrain station. So it is highly accessible for those flying in to Sandton. The trip from OR Tambo (Johannesburg) International airport is 15 minutes. Sandton is not very pedestrian friendly and it helps that the hotel has a shuttle bus to take one around, such as to the other Radisson Blu Sandton hotel where one may have a conference. The hotel is also only a few blocks from the Sandton City shopping mall and the Nelson Mandela square (lots of restaurants), Sandton Conference Centre.

The rooms are good and clean. Single rooms of moderate size with all the expected features. Restaurant provides a good breakfast variety. A gym in the hotel, but no spa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian_Neilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard T, Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Ian_Neilson
Our sincere thanks for taking the time to inform fellow travellers about your experience at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel. As you have yourself highlighted, our location makes us an ideal base for business travellers need quick and easy access to both OR Tambo International and Sandton centre. I am happy to advise that there are spa facilities available within the building, located on the first floor. Thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.
Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Deputy General Manager Operation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Spent just one night at this hotel before flying to Dubai... Geat hospitality and great food! Loved the bedroom layout - you could still watch tv whilst having a shower :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard T, Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Helena 181
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and agree that the unique design of our rooms does allow for a great guest experience. If you do return to Sandton and Radisson Blu Gutrain Hotel, please feel to call on me personally so that we can ensure another memorable stay.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

am now a regular here and there isnt a better business hotel in south africa if you ask me. You can walk across the road from the gautrain station, the rooms are superb, breakfast is a gastronomic feast and although the bar is a bit pricey for SA, it still remains competitive globally. The staff are competent and friendly and i cant recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaskersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

If price is OK for you, do not hesitate to stay in Radisson Gautrain. Rooms ar modern, clean and comfortable. Common areas, like the bar or the swimming pool, are special attractions. Location is also very convinient, at a walking distance from the Nelson Mandela Square, where you find good restaurants and malls. It is also close to the Gautrain train station.
The only negative point about this hotel is that attention from staff could have been a little better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Frozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.4 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing