We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
No. 5 on Franschoek
Ranked #16 of 81 Sandton B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my fifth stay at No5 and as always the service and quality were second to none. There is always a friendly welcome, the rooms are always immaculate and the staff are friendly and helpful. Its just like going home, Nicki runs a great establishment and i wouldnt hesitate recommending No5 to anyone, it must be one of the best kept secrets in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki07SouthAfrica, Owner at No. 5 on Franschoek, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review us we really do appreciate all feedback. We really enjoy welcoming people to our B& B and we are really please that are rooms are immaculate - very encouraging for us indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2010

No 5 on Franschoek is a welcoming sanctuary in the city of Johannesburg. Nicki, Nigel & Judith make you feel comfortably at home as soon as you arrive. Our room was spacious and bright, with a huge bed, TV with DSTV, microwave & fridge. The bathroom was gorgeous with 2 sinks, a fantastic shower and huge, lovely bath. What makes this place so special is the warmth of the people, who all went above and beyond helping my husband and I do what we needed to do. Breakfast was freshly made, always delicious and very generous. I would recommend No 5 on Franschoek for anyone visiting Jo'burg, and I think it compares very well to other guest houses in the area regarding value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZigZag09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

During the last 6 months I have stayed in Sandton/Paulshof accommodation at “No 5 on Franschoek” tree times, in total 5/6 weeks.

The “house” fully provides what I need when I am staying away from my home: It’s perfectly clean, safe and flexible meaning it’s possible quickly to change the duration of the stay. On top of that there is a very good balance between privacy and interaction with the owners.

Next time when I will go to the Jo’burg area I am not in doubt where to stay !

Best regards,
Heine Alsaker

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeineAlsaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

One of my favorite B & Bs! The rooms are tastefully decorated with beautiful en-suite bathrooms. The mini bar is well stocked, with fresh milk!, making that well deserved cup of coffee at the end of the day absolutely perfect!

The personalised service is always fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. From pulling out the map book for a comprehensive set of directions to making a plan to accommodate you in at the very last minute, everything is done with a smile.

The central location makes this the perfect place for the business traveller - easy access to the business hub of Gauteng, yet set in a tranquil suburb allowing you to put your day behind you after your last meeting.

You'll love your stay here :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raedene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I honestly felt like it was 'home away from home'. I slept so well that when I woke in the morning I actually forgot where I was.The decor in the rooms is so beautiful, I have already begun my search to make an exact replica at my home in KZN.

Everything, from the friendly staff, to the comfortable rooms (equipped with absolutely EVERTHING! I might add) was what made my stay so welcoming. The breakfast was also superb! I've stayed in many B&B's and never before have I being waited on 'hand and foot' by the staff as I was here.

What an awesome experience!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

After a hard day, the warm and friendly greeting is most welcome. Lovely room with great linen. I slept really well, and had an amazing shower. Breakfast – recommend the omelet.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViaggiatoreIntrepido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki C, Owner at No. 5 on Franschoek, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review. We really do appreciate all input. We are so glad you enjoyed the omelette - this is definitely one of guests favourites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank luyten2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki C, Owner at No. 5 on Franschoek, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,390 reviews
5.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
6.2 mi away
Silver Oak Luxury Accommodation
5.3 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 47 in Sandton
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 5 on Franschoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 5 on Franschoek

Address: 5 Franschoek Lane | Paulshof, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: $60 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No. 5 on Franschoek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your No. 5 on Franschoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 5 On Franschoek Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing