We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value for money- lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn Sandton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Inn Sandton
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money- lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It was a while ago that I stayed here, but I really enjoyed my stay considering I was a tad worried about being in Joberg by myself. The rooms were really cool and stylish and the staff were extremely friendly! The only disappointment was the food as it was pretty simple for its price and the resturant was dead, but then I didn't really go out and explore. At the end of the day it was clean and spacious with a good value for money and helpful staff and in a 4 star hotel that's all you need!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, Front Office Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Hannah Thank you very much for your most valued review. We hope that in the not too distant future we are able to welcome you back best regards Bettina Scherzinger Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    222
    142
    56
    59
See reviews for
51
117
52
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South east UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Only had one night here in October 2012. I found the hotel to be clean with all facilities in good order. The restaurant was very nice with a comprehensive and reasonably priced menu. Probably the best T bone steak I had in South Africa.
Rooms a good standard as you would expect from a modern 4 star hotel. Staff friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the Christmas break and was shocked at the attitide of SOME of the staff. It felt as if we were disturbing them and we were a nuisance. Went on safari on Boxing day and was gone from 6.00am till 9.00pm. When we returned the rooms had not been serviced and the hotel could not give an explanation (ours was not the only room that had not been serviced). The manager on duty looks like he enjoys being the manager but floating around the hotel smiling at everyone seems to be the extent of his skills. A lot would have to change before I would consider staying at this particular Park Inn again. On the plus side it is is close to Sandton Mall and has a free shuttle service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandton hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a stopover in Jhb in Dec 2012.

The location is excellent, it's a safe area and the hotel is close to some of the best shopping locations. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to Mandela Square and shopping mall. It's also very easy to get onto the highway if you're driving to other parts of the city.

The service was at a reasonable standard all around from reception staff to the bar and waiting staff. Staff are quite helpful and very friendly. You never had to wait to be served in the bar and restaurant.

In terms of the facilities, it had a small outside pool. The bar was quite lively on a couple of nights when I've come back to the hotel. The outside area by the pool is also quite nice to hang out at. The decor is ultra modern but basic. The rooms are a decent size, clean and modern. The room I stayed in had a slightly strange layout but it worked. You get free internet access if you join the hotel group's membership club which is free. The food at the restaurant was reasonable, I ate there twice during my stay and the breakfasts were decent. There wasn't much of a view from my hotel room, it looked out onto a construction site next door and a highway but there wasn't any work going on at the time of my stay so it wasn't noisy or distracting. There's also underground parking which was good.

The TV in my room did not work and I couldn't get the air conditioning to work either. I didn't complain as I didn't spend much time in the room itself so can't say whether it was something that they would have resolved if I complained about it, however saying that you would expect that these things are checked on a regular basis and that everything works.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PicadorIxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Back here again ,with 2 children.We love the excellent service as well as the very friendly & helpful staff ! The outdoor pool is not big but my 9 year old loves it and we can watch her from the bar .
Rooms are comfortable,quiet and the hotel is very secure .
Unlike some other reviewers we have always had air con in full working order,never had to wait more than a few minutes for our rooms and all staff have been willing to go that extra mile to make our stay enjoyable.
The only downside to this hotel is the limited menu,although the food is excellent and the breakfast is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5 th and 7th floors have good views.Although the huge Nelson Mandela Square Mall is only 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The staff are pleasant but the whole hotel is dissapointing. A modern hotel with a clean simple reception. I had to change my room as not only were the towels dirty but the bathroom bin wasn't emptied. The air conditioning is a waste if time but no one wants to help you sort it out.
I didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment but the bar is expensive and the wine selection limited, which in a country that produces such superb wines is surprising .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Checked in for a 17 night stay - business. I arrived about 4pm and it was almost 8pm before they had a room for me. I had traveled for about 28 hours from Southern California, and the almost 4 hour delay getting some rest was awful. However, after that is said, my remaining experiences have been exceptional. The location is great and in a safe area. The entire staff is helpful, friendly and go "the extra mile." The buffet breakfast is outstanding as is their menu items for lunch or dinner. The pool is small. Their complimentary shuttle service to nearby malls, train station, etc., is excellent. My room is adequate - clean and bright. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
0.9 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#20 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn Sandton

Property: Park Inn Sandton
Address: 118 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Inn Sandton Hotel is enviably situated in the heart of Sandton. The Park Inn boasts 273 beautiful modern rooms as well as our Signature outlet RBG Bar & Grill. The Hotel is easily accessible to all major tourist attractions and heritage sites as well as 1.5Km from the premier Sandton City Shopping mall and Nelson Mandela Square. A free shuttle service is available to Nelson Mandela square. After a long day of meetings or sightseeing the hotel's outdoor swimming pool is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Rezidor, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Park Inn Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Sandton Hotel Sandton
Park Inn Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing