We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely New Hotel - Great Bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I extended a business trip over a weekend, and this hotel was recommended to me by a South African colleague. I was only able to get a standard room, but this was fine.

The standard room is quite compact, but had some great touches - ipod docking station, wall sockets that fit international plugs, generous sized shower, flat screen TV, and the room service was pretty good. The hotel decor is contemporary - my only gripe is the lighting in the bedroom was great mood lighting, but not that practical! My room was above the bar (great view!), and over-looking a busy road, but had no problems getting to sleep.

I think one of the things that makes this hotel is the bar on the Mezzanine floor, with amazing panoramic views. Seems to a popular destination with locals for a Friday night drink, and had a great vibe. Overall the hotel service was excellent, although when the bar was busy, it was very slow (but well-intentioned!). The bar menu was small, but not too bad, shame they don't offer afternoon teas though.

The hotel backs onto the Hyde park shopping centre which has a selection of international brands (and the obligatory "Woolies"!), but I would still recommend the Sandton shopping centre.

Overall a nice surprise, and any new hotel quirks seemed to have been dealt with. I probably wouldn't stay here for a business trip, but it does offer business facilities, although the internet access is not free.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiInPimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 470 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was significantly cheaper than the ones at Sandton City/Nelson Mandela square. What a bargain by comparison then! The hotel is just a few minutes drive away but was superb (I have stayed at a few of the Sandton ones before and this better than some of the more expensive ones). Rooms a bit on the smallish side but beautifully decorated, flat screen TV, points to plug in any kind of plug and/or any kind of electronic appliance you might be travelling with (including ipod etc), smart bathroom with lovely large shower. The hotel is quite new and still looks brand new, impressive entrance as is the bar/lounge area upstairs. Service was impeccable and friendly almost everywhere - just the breakfast fell a bit short in terms of time (if I had been there on business might have been a bit annoyed at that but we weren't in a rush so it was OK). Right on Hyde Park centre which is upmarket and smart, a few nice restaurants, and bookstore (Exclusive Books) open till late for those travelling on business! As mentioned, a few minutes from Sandton, also just a few mins from Rosebank (and also way cheaper than the Rosebank hotels though it is a star less than the Grace and Hyatt of course) and not very far to Melrose Arch either.

So: gGreat situation, great hotel, and especially if it stays cheaper than the others because of its marginally out-of-the-way location (i mean literally 3 minutes to drive to Sandton..!!) highly recommended.

Just 2 things to note: 1) if you are driving, park in the front and register as you need your keycard to access hotel parking; and 2) also in Sandton is the Gautrain which is just the absolute best way to get to the airport!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Drove around Jo'burg looking for a hotel and picked the Southern Sun Hyde Park by chance. Friendly service, conveniently placed on top of a shopping center (with the excellent Willoughby's on ground floor for dinner), very comfortable and luxurious room, great bathroom, comfortable bed, and last but not least, the most delicious buffet breakfast I've had for a long time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZadaZainal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Stayed here B&B for a few days earlier in the year. We found the hotel to be very central with plenty of shops near by (Sandton) also it is built on top of the Hyde Park centre where one can wonder down and eat in the evenings if not wanting to get into the car or eat in the hotel. Although it has a swimming pool area and the likes, its certainly not a holiday hotel more a business mans place for a couple of nights. We found all the staff to be most friendly and helpful also the breakfast we found excellent and enjoyable. Our room was nice although it was overlooking the central car parking area, room was serviced every day to a high standard. Nice hotel for a short stay only.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradshawbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed here for two weekend nights. Everything was just as it should be. The hotel is well located with an upmarket mall next door, and within easy reach of most places you'll want to be in Joburg. Reception was efficient, the rooms well designed and functional (still with 'new' smells), and the breakfast absolutely top class. There is a nice pool area and deck, plus a bar that is fun as well as extremely busy (at weekend, at least). All the hallmarks of a really well run establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a week,rooms are very dark and not conducive to working. Beds were comfortable, breakfast was very good, restaurant food was very tasty but service was slow. I waited 40 mins one day for a sandwich.Telephone message left for me at reception - it was never delivered. Lights in bedroom are very dim..in fact, they were faulty and kept coming on and off at night - I reported it on 1st night, they were never fixed, so I had to take keycard out at night and no air conditioning then. A lot of noise also as my room was facing out on to a very busy road. The 2nd floor leads into Hyde Park Shopping Cetnre - very upmarket.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: mit Aussicht auf die Stadt wählen, hinten sehr unschön
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie H, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
2.4 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#12 of 47 in Sandton
901 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,429 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,013 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $146 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing