We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
WR
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

If I'm not at the Sandton Sun, I'm at Hyde Park. Always friendly and good service. Nothing like relaxing on the sun deck after a day of meetings, or having an awesome breakfast.

Thank you. You will never be disappointed here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Whydoyouneedascreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for the wonderful response on Trip Advisor.

The Deck and bar area is definitely a hit with the locals, and a place to just relax and unwind after a long day at the office.

Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    152
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
28
75
28
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2014

this hotel was a home away from home,thoroughly enjoyed my stay.staff attention to detail was excellent.well done.the hotel.the decor was interior was flawless and beautiful.easy access to the mall was plus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank lee_cassim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Lee

Thank you for rating us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us , and to also experiance the quality service which is offered by Southern Sun Hyde Park.

Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We really had an excellent experience at the Hyde Park Southern Sun Hotel in Johannesburg! All the way from making the reservation through to checking out from the hotel, we had dealings with truly efficient and friendly staff with great communication skills. The hotel is very clean and well-run, and is well located for access to high standard shopping and access to the northern suburbs of Johannesburg. We shall certainly be staying there again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank FelicityJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Felicity

Thank you for your time in rating us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look to welcome your return in the coming future.

Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Island Bar - average food, ridiculously and i mean REALLY ridiculously overpriced drinks....but a great view.... not sure its worth it. Actually its not ... Waiter even tried to pull a fast one on the wine by the class bringing me a chenin rather than a chardonnay
wont go back

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Liesl

Thank you for your rating on Trip Advisor.

I can assure you that this is not the standard of service which is offered by Southern Sun Hyde Park, and kindly request for you to send me more details on this experiance.

Kind Regards
Muhammad
Front Office Manager
muhammad.rawat@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Air conditioners and heating in the rooms need improvement. Maybe try installing digital systems were one can determine the exact room temperature they need. Wi-Fi sign-in needs to be made user friendlier than it is now. I found it not that friendly and even some staff seemed not really on top of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank matarukal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Matarukal

We would like to thank you for bringing the above to our attention . Further training has been conducted with all staff, this training has provided the necessary knowledge on how to excess the wireless internet service.

The airconditioning comments have been forwarded through to our maintenance department for further review.

Kind Regards
Muhammad
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanjan Province, Iran
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I sometimes go to Johannesburg for free and always stay in this hotel. It is wonderful, clean cosy and lovely. The staff are really helping. I once lost some money and later when I eas back to my country I emailed them and asked if they had found any money. Even though I was not sure that I had lost the money in the hotel and that they were not responsible for it atall (because they have provided safes in rooms) they still offered me a complimentary night at the hotel for my next trip so that I would be happy with my stay in the hotel. I will never forget how kind they were to me. The hotel is in a prefect location, with spectacular views to the city from the lifts and the resturant. Very good breakfast and beautiful rooms. I loved it and will recomend it to anyone who wishes to have a wonderful stay in SA.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Fatima

Thank you for your time in rating us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that the hotel has met with your expectations. The team at Southern Sun Hyde Park constantly drives itself to offering a memorable experiance for all our guests.

Should you require anything prior to your next stays with us , Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Muhammad
Front Office Manager
muhammad.rawat@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here several times now and have always been very pleased. Good service, nice restaurant, bar and pool deck. Small gym has an amazing view. The walk-through to the mall next door is very convenient. A variety of restaurants in the mall plus the hotel's Italian restaurant leave you spoilt for choice within walking distance.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Lance

Thank you for you rating on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that the hotel has met with your expectations.

The Staff at Southern Sun Hyde park are geared in creating memorable experiances for our guests and look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Muhammad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
866 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,287 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.9 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Property: Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing