We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
45
51
23
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
51
23
5
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 133 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Improvement required. Some few details of the structure need to be improved (water beneath doors). Also, the front desk lady needs more training on courtesy.
The cost of getting breakfast served in the room should be reviewed (R50).

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adewoleo869
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJBL-GLA, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for your feedback which highlights areas for improvement which have been noted and actioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

I can not comprehend how this facility has the rating of 3 star! It does definitely not compare to any 3 star in Europe.
The only plus points are the staff are very accommodating and the breakfast was good, had our rooms been as clean as the breakfast area we would not have had to cut our visit short and leave after enduring one night!
The manager took on board all our feedback of which there are far too many to list, and I can only comment on the 2 rooms we booked. I do however think a lot of the photos are a little misleading! Only 4 sun beds by the pool, no wifi in rooms only in reception and breakfast room, no other real facilities for food and drink unless you order a takeaway. Bathrooms & kitchens both below par in cleanliness,and the 2 bedroom apt my friend had was generally extremely filthy apart from the living room. Overall very poor value for money and we will NEVER book with booking.com again

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Elliottness66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJBL-GLA, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. As discussed with you, the room was allocated to you erroneously and was under maintenance. You were offered a different suite which you refused as you felt your first night was understandably unpleasant and you even asked for a refund plus an extra 30% more on top of that.
During our discussion you did note that there were road works taking place in the area surrounding the hotel and this caused an interruption with the fibre/ADSL services in the WHOLE area not just the hotel. The listing does clearly state that the hotel serves breakfast as we are close to Nelson Mandela Square which has a vast array of restaurants to choose from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017

The Glenalmond Hotel was the perfect choice for our 3 day business trip. The 2 bedroom apartment was ideal for a team of 3 and the rooms were large and comfortable. Staff were excellent. Quiet surroundings.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank craigsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJBL-GLA, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you for your review, we are glas your guests's stay was comfortable. I will let our staff know that their service is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

A lovely gem with just a few rough edges hidden in Sandton. Some issues with the windows not closing properly, was is not winter it wouldn't be an issue. Lovely surroundings but the parking floor at the bottom is an accident just waiting to happen, damaged my car underneath (but made no big issue..it was a rental). Overall nice.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJBL-GLA, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you for your kind words and advise, these have been noted and will be attended to. Safe travels and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

First of all, It's a cool place to be, it is very close to the prometric center and to the shopping areas. It's very peaceful and quiet. The service is great, the staffs are super friendly and the room is clean.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank k0milag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHManager, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Hello and thank you for your review, we are happy to know that your stay was peaceful and pleasant. We strive to give the best service and hope to continue improving it.

^NJBL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews